Reply to topic

no run for Amarok

Nickness
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0

no run for Amarok

Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:07 pm
Hi i'm on Fedora 18 with gnome.
I'd like to use Amarok, i've installed it and when i run i get this message:

[root@localhost nico]# amarok
amarok: error while loading shared libraries: libQtWebKit.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

i check on-line the solution without any success.
How can i fix it?
Thanks
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4970
Karma
17
OS

Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:46 pm
I would think you are missing the package containing it

this command will tell if it is on the system
Code: Select all
whereis libQtWebKit.so.4


on openSUSE the package is libQTWebKit4


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.
Nickness
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0

Re: no run for Amarok

Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:10 pm
here is the result:

[nico@localhost ~]$ whereis libQtWebKit.so.4
libQtWebKit.so: /lib/libQtWebKit.so.4 /usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4

so it seems to exist....any idea now?
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4970
Karma
17
OS

Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:35 pm
the /lib/lib one sounds wrong, these are links and I think there should only be one

run
Code: Select all
ls -l /lib/libQtWebKit.so.4 /usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4
 ls -l /lib/libQtWebKit.so*
 ls -l /usr/libQtWebKit.so*


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.
Nickness
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0

Re: no run for Amarok

Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:21 am
sorry i don't understand what i'm supposed to do.
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4970
Karma
17
OS

Re: no run for Amarok

Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:24 am
run the 3 ls commands in Konsole and post the results here, like you did with the whereis command. I think the /lib/libQtWebKit.so.4 file will not exist or be a bad link and then I'll suggest you rename it and try running Amarok.


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.
Nickness
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0

Re: no run for Amarok

Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:36 am
her you are:

Code: Select all
[nico@localhost ~]$ ls -l /lib/libQtWebKit.so.4 /usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 20 23 apr 00.11 /lib/libQtWebKit.so.4 -> libQtWebKit.so.4.9.2
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 20 23 apr 00.11 /usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4 -> libQtWebKit.so.4.9.2
[nico@localhost ~]$
[nico@localhost ~]$  ls -l /lib/libQtWebKit.so*
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root       20 23 apr 00.11 /lib/libQtWebKit.so.4 -> libQtWebKit.so.4.9.2
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root       20 23 apr 00.11 /lib/libQtWebKit.so.4.9 -> libQtWebKit.so.4.9.2
-rwxr-xr-x. 1 root root 27704808 22 gen 20.43 /lib/libQtWebKit.so.4.9.2
[nico@localhost ~]$
[nico@localhost ~]$ ls -l /usr/libQtWebKit.so*
ls: impossibile accedere a /usr/libQtWebKit.so*: File o directory non esistente
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4970
Karma
17
OS

Re: no run for Amarok

Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:54 am
what is result of command
Code: Select all
rpm -ql libQtWebKit4


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.
Nickness
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0

Re: no run for Amarok

Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:59 am
Code: Select all
[nico@localhost ~]$ rpm -ql libQtWebKit4
il pacchetto libQtWebKit4 non è stato installato
[nico@localhost ~]$


it says it's not installed. Now i do not understand how is possible that is not installed while i see the library installed.

i've already downloaded the package from http://pkgs.org/download/libQtWebKit.so.4
and tryed to install but it says that is already installed:

Code: Select all
[root@localhost Scaricati]# rpm -Uvc qtwebkit-2.2.2-8.fc18.i686.rpm
Preparazione dei pacchetti...
   il pacchetto qtwebkit-2.2.2-8.fc18.i686 è già installato
[root@localhost Scaricati]# rpm -Uvc qtwebkit-2.2.2-2.fc18.i686.rpm
Preparazione dei pacchetti...
   il pacchetto qtwebkit-2.2.2-8.fc18.i686 (il quale risulta essere più recente di qtwebkit-2.2.2-2.fc18.i686) è già installato
[root@localhost Scaricati]#


Last edited by Nickness on Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4970
Karma
17
OS

Re: no run for Amarok

Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:05 am
different distros package thing differently, I gave you the package name openSUSE uses which is what I am familiar with

as root rename /usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4 (as the file it links to does not exist) then run Amarok


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4970
Karma
17
OS

Re: no run for Amarok

Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:14 am
run the following 2 commands, they will show what package provides a particular file

Code: Select all
rpm -q --whatprovides /lib/libQtWebKit.so.4
 rpm -q --whatprovides /usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.
Nickness
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0

Re: no run for Amarok

Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:37 am
Code: Select all
[root@localhost lib]# rpm -q --whatprovides /lib/libQtWebKit.so.4
qtwebkit-2.2.2-8.fc18.i686
[root@localhost lib]#  rpm -q --whatprovides /usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4
qtwebkit-2.2.2-8.fc18.i686


this is fine.

Now i'm trying to rename the /usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4 as you said but i do not undestand if i have to change the name as the package which fedora says is not installed (libQtWebKit4) or to move out from /usr/lib directory into /usr because we find that
/usr/libQtWebKit.so* file or directory does not exist
User avatar Mamarok
Manager
Posts
2922
Karma
8
OS

Re: no run for Amarok

Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:42 am
He didn't tell you to rename anything, where did you read that? Just install the missing packages.


Mamarok, hanging out in the Amarok forum since August, 2007
Currently running Kubuntu Trusty 14.04, KDE 4.12.95, Amarok 2.8-git of the day
Nickness
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0

Re: no run for Amarok

Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:44 am
as root rename /usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4 (as the file it links to does not exist) then run Amarok


i've tryed to install again the missing packege downloading from the url i gave you but it says it's already installed
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4970
Karma
17
OS

Re: no run for Amarok

Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:48 am
the best way to fix it would be to reinstall the package and hope this time it is correct
maybe even remove, then re-install

after reinstalling run
Code: Select all
ls -l /usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4

if it exists run Amarok

if not as root remove the bad file and then create a new file with a good link as root
Code: Select all
rm /usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4
ln -s /lib/libQtWebKit.so.4.9.2 /usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], bcooksley, Bing [Bot], claydoh, Deusdies, Exabot [Bot], garthecho, Google [Bot], Hans, jpwhiting, La Ninje, Majestic-12 [Bot], Mamarok, MetaNova, MSN [Bot], renatoatilio, rossdv8, Uri_Herrera, Yahoo [Bot], šumski