Reply to topic

Need help with Windows version.

muddpuddle
Registered Member
Posts
6
Karma
0

Need help with Windows version.

Sun Apr 15, 2012 11:45 pm
Hello,
Installed the Calligra Suite but cannot run Krita. I continually get an error stating "The ordinal 3212 could not be located in the dynamic link library LIBEAY32.dll"

In fact, I get this error with all of the suite from Calligra.

I then tried to install the Krita stand-alone (non suite) and I get more error messages. This time the "application failed to start because komain.dll was not found". However, the komain.dll does exist. Is Krita looking for it in the wrong location?

Any help would be great, thanks.
muddpuddle
Registered Member
Posts
6
Karma
0

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Mon Apr 16, 2012 2:55 pm
So, after stumbling around the forum, I see that Windows is pretty much as low on the priority list as possible for the developers. Krita looks pretty interesting but is it worth the hassle of trying to get running on my system? I already use ArtRage for most 2D.

It would be great if there was a simple solution, however...
User avatar LukasT.dev
KDE Developer
Posts
186
Karma
1
OS

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:09 pm
Sorry, I have no idea, I have some problem with iconv.dll myself and I don't know the solution so far.

The situation with Windows is explained here [1] and here [2]

[1] http://slangkamp.wordpress.com/2012/04/ ... g-windows/
[2] http://www.valdyas.org/fading/index.cgi ... uture.html


Daylight is coming...
Krita developer | http://lukast.mediablog.sk/log
muddpuddle
Registered Member
Posts
6
Karma
0

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:00 am
Thanks for your response.
I Guess for now I will just keep an eye on Krita and wait to see what happens. If you start taking donations specifically for a Windows version, I will happily donate a bit.

Would certainly help if I could but I'm definitely not a programmer.

Will check in again sometime down the road.
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
1379
Karma
7
OS

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:57 am
If you copy the iconv.dll from the lib to the bin directory in your calligra or krita install dir, this issue will be fixed. There is a new calligra msi package available that has that fixed; I need to find some time to update the krita-only msi. Maybe today.
muddpuddle
Registered Member
Posts
6
Karma
0

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:51 pm
I gave it a try - copied the inconv.dll from the lib to bin folder. Then I got a new error with missing file so I copied that .dll from the lib to bin folder. Then another. After 3 of these I copied my entire lib folder contents into the bin folder.

Krita works now :)

Thanks!
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
1379
Karma
7
OS

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:01 pm
That;s what I did for the new, updated krita installer on the kogmbh site as well :-)
MereBytes
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Thu May 10, 2012 12:09 am
muddpuddle wrote:Hello,
Installed the Calligra Suite but cannot run Krita. I continually get an error stating "The ordinal 3212 could not be located in the dynamic link library LIBEAY32.dll"

In fact, I get this error with all of the suite from Calligra.

I then tried to install the Krita stand-alone (non suite) and I get more error messages. This time the "application failed to start because komain.dll was not found". However, the komain.dll does exist. Is Krita looking for it in the wrong location?

Any help would be great, thanks.


I have this same error message with "komain.dll" with the 7.5.2012 updated version.
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
1379
Karma
7
OS

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Thu May 10, 2012 6:54 am
Hm... Are you starting krita with the desktop or menu shortcut when you get these errors? If so, could you go to the krita directory in program files (or program files 64) and then move the .dll files from the lib to the bin directory and try again?
MereBytes
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Thu May 10, 2012 5:22 pm
Well it stopped giving error messages, but doesn't launch program and dbus-daemon.exe runs on the background.
I could try on my samsung series 7 slate later and see if it does the same.
MereBytes
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Sun May 13, 2012 9:00 pm
Ok, I've tested the Krita on Samsung series 7 slate with Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium (64-bit) and works fine after installation.
I have no idea why it's giving me a headache on Windows 7 Ultimate. :P

edit:
sorry for the double post.
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
1379
Karma
7
OS

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Mon May 14, 2012 7:24 pm
There's a new version... I compiled git master on Windows this morning and put up a new, slightly tweaked package on http://www.kogmbh.com/download.html.
MereBytes
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Wed May 16, 2012 2:46 pm
I noticed that selecting brushes and drawing is very slow in my Win 7 slate. Lets say I draw a line and after I've done this the line appears magically few seconds later. The new version still won't launch on my other computer. I compared the settings on each computer and my desktop computer doesn't have UAC on. I'll test UAC on default setting later.
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
1379
Karma
7
OS

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Wed May 16, 2012 2:57 pm
HI Merebytes,

Does that mean that on the main system you are running as administrator? Krita is pretty demanding, I'm afraid, so if the slate is netbook-class hardware (not sure...) it might just not have enough memory/processing power.
MereBytes
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0

Re: Need help with Windows version.

Thu May 17, 2012 3:51 pm
boudewijn wrote:HI Merebytes,

Does that mean that on the main system you are running as administrator? Krita is pretty demanding, I'm afraid, so if the slate is netbook-class hardware (not sure...) it might just not have enough memory/processing power.


Edit: Yes running as admin. Also tried with "take ownership script". This OS has been running on my system for over 3 years so the system might have some issues.
There hasn't been any problems installing anything though. Hardware is about 3.5 year old gaming rig that has served me well.

About the slate:
Here are the specifications.
http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/tabl ... 03US-specs

With core i5 and 4 GB of memory and SSD you'd think it has enough to run krita. It can run photoshop smoothly which is pretty demanding software aswell.
I'd install ubuntu on this slate, but I haven't heard anyone actually reporting if it works well on this slate.
I could propably try virtualbox + some linux distro and krita.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: AGB, Azzart, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Bingy, colomar, Exabot [Bot], garthecho, Google [Bot], google01103, GreatEmerald, jensreuterberg, jstaniek, kainz.a, koriun, Kver, La Ninje, lazyit, Majestic-12 [Bot], MSN [Bot], Nuc!eoN, psbot [Picsearch], rulet111, scummos, SecretCode, Tuukka, undoshmulhe, Uri_Herrera, Yahoo [Bot]