Reply to topic

Krita + non-wacom tablets

User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
1380
Karma
7
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Fri Apr 20, 2012 7:39 am
We can get started by adding this change to https://bugreports.qt-project.org/browse/QTBUG-25329 -- then the Qt people can give their feedback.
JedTheKrampus
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Fri Apr 20, 2012 11:17 am
I added the comment.

I also rather like using Krita with pressure sensitivity. :3
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
1380
Karma
7
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Fri Apr 20, 2012 11:57 am
Thanks!
gasss97
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:43 pm
Hi !
So I sorry by advance for my english (in fact, I'm french, and all people in the world knows that frenches are very bad in English speacking).

I use Linux mint 13, my goal is to use Krita with pressure with my "ThinLine M" tablet, recognised as "UC-Logic Technology Corp. Tablet WP5540U" with the "$ lsusb" command, and to contribuate too ...

My Internet connection is so low, I started to download the QT sources with the following command " $ wget http://get.qt.nokia.com/qt/source/qt-ev ... 8.1.tar.gz ", and since 30 min I started it, I'm still 50% of download ...,

So .... I'll tell you more next time ...

@+ (... not sure is good in EN) .... Bye ( idem ...)

Good night ...
gasss97
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Thu Jun 21, 2012 3:33 am
Hi again, I'm back...

I just finished (?) to download the sources, and untar them, and modified ".../qapplication_x11.cpp" the line I had to (?).
The next steps I have to do are :

Code: Select all
$ make -j8

Code: Select all
$ ./configure -prefix /usr
$ make -j8
$ sudo make install

but I can't found any make file in the root directory of the archive
and , of course " ./configure -prefix /usr " don't work.

So, to recall, I'm on a Linux Mint 13 with gnome, and I don't know if I missed a thing to install about QT (?)
(for a previous step, I installed "qt4-qtconfig"; and before, I had installed some QT and/or KDE libs (dependancies) for the Krita's installation, but I don't know If it's enough ...)

I hope I'm clear with my explainations, and I hope someone could help me.

thanks by advance for a good soul to help me.

good night again.


P.S.: (?) : when I don't know if my EN is well, and maybe I missed some.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18657
Karma
83
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:00 am
Could you pastebin the output of the Qt configure command somewhere, so we can take a look?
You probably need to install the myriad of needed dependencies to build Qt.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
gasss97
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Fri Jun 22, 2012 2:02 pm
Hi,

So, I don't like to lose, and continued to search, and found in the archive a file named " install ", I opened it, and followed the links :
" http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-4.8/install-x11.html " and " http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-4.8/requirements-x11.html "
to find a list of dependencies :

libfontconfig1-dev
libfreetype6-dev
libx11-dev
libxcursor-dev
libxext-dev
libxfixes-dev
libxft-dev
libxi-dev
libxrandr-dev
libxrender-dev

and G++ too, because of error message

I installed all of them, and the last part of compilation installation worked fine without any error message, or I didn't saw it, but my tablette don't work any more with QT apps like Krita

I'm actualy not at home and I can't run any command, but what is exactly the command you are talking about ?
I think what I done is not to bad, but not work, if you have any idea, I'll so pleased

thanks again

@+
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18657
Karma
83
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Mon Jun 25, 2012 3:12 am
When preparing to build Qt, you would have run a command similar to this:
Code: Select all
./configure --prefix=...


The output of this command is the part which is needed here.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
gasss97
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:52 pm
Hi,
Sorry for my late... but I don't understand very well your response what does "..." mean ? and what I have to replace instead.
( I not very good in compilation )
thanks.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18657
Karma
83
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Fri Jun 29, 2012 2:20 am
In this case "..." should be "/usr" based on the command you originally pasted.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
viktoria.s
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
1
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:18 am
Hi!

You may try to modify the code the way I suggested in the bug report:
Code: Select all
if (devs->type == ATOM(XWacomStylus) || devs->type == ATOM(XTabletStylus)) {
                    deviceType = QTabletEvent::Stylus;
                    if (wacomDeviceName()->isEmpty())
                        wacomDeviceName()->append(devs->name);
                    gotStylus = true;
                } else if (devs->type == ATOM(XWacomEraser) || devs->type == ATOM(XTabletEraser)) {
                    deviceType = QTabletEvent::XFreeEraser;
                    gotEraser = true;
                } else if (devs->type == XInternAtom(X11->display, XI_TABLET, False)) {
                    deviceType = QTabletEvent::Stylus;
                    if (wacomDeviceName()->isEmpty()) {
                        wacomDeviceName()->append(devs->name);
                    }
                    gotStylus = true;
                }
}

or in this way:
Code: Select all
if (devs->type ==  XInternAtom(X11->display, XI_TABLET, False) || devs->type == ATOM(XWacomStylus) || devs->type == ATOM(XTabletStylus))

According to my best knolwdge and experience devs->type not always 101 in case of evdev devices, so it is better to use XInternAtom(X11->display, XI_TABLET, False) call to get the type id.
kvaksy
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Thu Aug 16, 2012 4:03 pm
Anyone here have any news on whether this will be fixed in the official QT source anytime soon?

I tried the above fixes, but still no pressure sensitivity after buidling, running sudo make install and finally rebooting. The new lib files are installed, but the change doesn't seem to have had the desired effect.

I really, really want to use Krita with my Monoprice tablet, but since it's not working with QT yet I'm actually considering buying a Wacom. I'd rather not, though, since the tablet I have is really just as good and Wacoms are really expensive.
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
1380
Karma
7
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Thu Aug 16, 2012 4:46 pm
No news about the fix in Qt. But I recently got two donations that add up to $100,- for Krita. I'm considering using that to get one of these non-wacom tablets so test with. I'm wondering what the best choice would be, though...
kvaksy
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:02 pm
This is the one I have. I do not know if it's a better or worse deal than other similarly priced tablet, since I have only used this and tried a Wacom a few times.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/produ ... 1&format=2

Image
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
1380
Karma
7
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:14 pm
I'll try to find a way to get one of those... Shipping from that link you gave me is about as much as the tablet itself!

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: alake, Alexa [Bot], Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], bobo01, einar, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Hei Ku, joshaughnessy, Marand, mgraesslin, nezumi, orbmiser, TheraHedwig, Yahoo [Bot]