Reply to topic

KDE 4.6 Hidden SSID with knetworkmanager

j100
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
OS
Summary of issue: You cannot connect to a wireless network with a hidden ssid, while using knetworkmanager. This leaves you with the choice of using ifup, yast(opensuse) which uses ifup but provides a gui for new users, etc. But thanks to glistwan helpful post there is a simple way to fix this issue, while continuing to use knetworkmanager.

Step 1 Get the wireless name of the hidden network, for example we will be looking for "Tree".
Image
Tree is not on the list of course

Step 2 Open the Terminal and enter super user mode.
Code: Select all
Lin@Lin1:~> [B]su[/B]
Password:
Lin # iwlist eth1 scanning essid Tree

You should get something like this back
Code: Select all
Lin # iwlist eth1 scanning essid Tree
eth1      Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:1D:7E:31:17:29
                    ESSID:"Tree"
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency=2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality:5/5  Signal level:-19 dBm  Noise level:-94 dBm
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                              24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                              12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s

Lin #

If you get something like this back check your capitalization, spelling, etc. Only an exact match of the name(SSID) will work.
Code: Select all
Lin # iwlist eth1 scanning essid [COLOR="darkred"]t[/COLOR]ree
eth1      No scan results


Step Three open knetworkmanager click "connect to other network", you should now see your hidden network.
Image

After running these steps once you should continue to see and connect to the hidden network.

Image

Routers tested so far:
Linksys wrt-350n
Cisco 800
wrt-54g

If this post works for you please reply and if possible include your OS version number, 32/64bit, Wireless router test, etc.
bulldog98
KDE Developer
Posts
17
Karma
0
OS
You should use the networkmanager plasmoid, which is default and the maintained fontend since around 4.4


Image
j100
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
OS

I believe that is what I am using

Tue May 24, 2011 9:22 pm
Also all reports indicate that they both have the same issue as of kde 4.6.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
KDE 4.6 users should be using the Network Management stack, not the monolithic KNetworkManager application.

Network Management provides a <hidden network> option, allowing me to enter the hidden network's SSID to connect to it.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
Saso_Ga
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0
Thank You....after searching high and low for a couple weeks, your fix worked like a charm ;D

Fedora 17
Belkin Wireless Router
Model: F5D7230-4
Version Info
Firmware Version
4.03.03
Boot Version
2.01.03


IBM ThinkPad T410 (output of lspci):

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor DRAM Controller (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset HECI Controller (rev 06)
00:16.3 Serial controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset KT Controller (rev 06)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82577LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 06)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 06)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 06)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev 06)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 2 (rev 06)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 4 (rev 06)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 5 (rev 06)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 06)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev a6)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 5 Series Chipset LPC Interface Controller (rev 06)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 6 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 06)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBus Controller (rev 06)
00:1f.6 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Thermal Subsystem (rev 06)
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Centrino Advanced-N + WiMAX 6250 (rev 35)
0d:00.0 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd MMC/SD Host Controller (rev 01)
0d:00.1 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd Memory Stick Host Controller (rev 01)
0d:00.3 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd FireWire Host Controller (rev 01)
ff:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture Generic Non-core Registers (rev 02)
ff:00.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture System Address Decoder (rev 02)
ff:02.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Link 0 (rev 02)
ff:02.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Physical 0 (rev 02)
ff:02.2 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor Reserved (rev 02)
ff:02.3 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor Reserved (rev 02)
Saso_Ga
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0
Can you provide some background info on what the command/fix did to fix network manager ?

(Im trying to learn more Linux)
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
No command was used - the fix was to upgrade KDE Network Management using their package manager. This will depend on the availability of updated packages from your distribution though.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
ulakkase
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
that's very good solution.
i am new comer for this forum.
i use slackware 14.0 with KDE 4.8.5.
this forum answared my problem.
with command: #iwlist wlan0 scanning essid CCPPWLAN07.
thank you very much.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], koriun, Kver, MSNbot Media, pedrorodriguez, Per, Yahoo [Bot]