Reply to topic

Should I re-index everything using 4.10's nepomuk backend?

molecule-eye
Registered Member
Posts
277
Karma
0
OS
I thought the nepomuk backend has changed in 4.10. If so, I was wondering whether I should delete all my data and re-index everything anew using the new backend. I ask because presently nepomuk reports wrong mp3 track length (usually not more than 5 seconds a track) which makes the nepomuk plugin for Amarok useless (since scanning becomes impossible). I was led to believe that reindexing on the new backend would fix this.

Thanks!
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18669
Karma
83
OS
Reindexing your files could possibly solve the situation. I'm not sure if there is a way to force reindexing other than deleting the database though.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
molecule-eye
Registered Member
Posts
277
Karma
0
OS
I'll give it a try and see whether it works. Thanks.
molecule-eye
Registered Member
Posts
277
Karma
0
OS
This turned out to be unhelpful. After stopping nepomuk, deleting the database, and restarting nepomuk, it continued to crash and restart repeatedly. I found this is a 4.10 bug fixed upstream. So I patched my system and rebooted. Nepomuk is running and reindexed everything, but mp3 track times are not part of the metadata. It doesn't show anything concerning track time. And the nepomuk plugin for Amarok now shows only 7 of my 4000+ tracks. Yet nepomuk shows that it's indexed all my songs (at least for some first pass?)
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18669
Karma
83
OS
The first pass is a very basic filename, type and times index, while the second run extracts metadata from the files.
You should be able to see a "nepomukindexer" process indexing files if the second run is still in progress (this information should also be offered by the Nepomuk Controller application in your system tray).


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
molecule-eye
Registered Member
Posts
277
Karma
0
OS
Well the second pass has gone through. Track length is still misreported--all under 10 seconds. But the amarok plugin is at least showing nearly all of my tracks. Definitely not in a usable state, not until they sort out track length, or have the plugin get track length from the file, rather than nepomuk.
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4966
Karma
17
OS

Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:05 pm
just an added note: it should be possible to just re-index specific folders, see http://trueg.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/m ... s-is-easy/


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.
molecule-eye
Registered Member
Posts
277
Karma
0
OS

Re:

Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:25 pm
google01103 wrote:just an added note: it should be possible to just re-index specific folders, see http://trueg.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/m ... s-is-easy/


Thanks. That's actually quite useful.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18669
Karma
83
OS
I would suggest filing a bug regarding the incorrect track lengths, against Nepomuk. Nepomuk may not be storing the information it is retrieving correctly (I think it uses Taglib like Amarok does, not 100% sure though) or it is not retrieving the information correctly.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
molecule-eye
Registered Member
Posts
277
Karma
0
OS

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Alastair, apater, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], garthecho, ggael, Google [Bot], google01103, Horus, jitseniesen, Joif, kde-jriddell, ken300, La Ninje, Mamarok, mmistretta, Nuc!eoN, psbot [Picsearch], rbruce, renatoatilio, sacarde, sinclair, stephans, TheraHedwig, tienhung, wolfi323, Yahoo [Bot]