Reply to topic

'File indexing service not running'

iamsorandom
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0

'File indexing service not running'

Wed Aug 28, 2013 5:27 pm
Hi,
I'm using Debian Wheezy, KDE 4.8.4.
Nepomuk file indexing service does not seem to be running, despite configuration settings having it enabled. When I right click on the nepomuk system tray outcome the 'suspend file indexing button' is ticked but greyed out.
When I try and open it, it says 'file indexing service not running' and says 'indexed files: calculating'. However, it seems to remain calculating this for a long time - at least an hour.
Meanwhile, virtuoso does not seem to be running as a process.
What can I do about this? What is the likely cause?
Cheers,
NIck
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
Can you check to see if the various Nepomuk processes are running? If they are running, can you check ~/.xsession-errors for any Nepomuk related messages?


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
iamsorandom
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0
Nepomukserver, nepomukservicestub and nepomukcontroller are all running.

At one point in xsession errors it says 'Nepomuk Query Server not available' - I think that that particular error relates to akonadi starting up or something.

Got some errors here which may be relevant:


"(Tomboy:4644): GdkPixbuf-WARNING **: GdkPixbufLoader finalized without calling gdk_pixbuf_loader_close() - this is not allowed. You must explicitly end the data stream to the loader before dropping the last reference.
"/usr/bin/kactivitymanagerd(4378)" Soprano: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply - Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken."
"/usr/bin/kactivitymanagerd(4378)" Soprano: "QLocalSocket::connectToServer: Invalid name"
QGridLayoutEngine::addItem: Cell (0, 1) already taken
kio_http_cache_cleaner: Already running!
kio_http_cache_cleaner: Already running!
"/usr/bin/krunner(4634)" Soprano: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply - Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken."
"/usr/bin/krunner(4634)" Soprano: "QLocalSocket::connectToServer: Invalid name"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Empty Panel"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Grid Desktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Newspaper Layout"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Desktop Dashboard"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "SaverDesktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Folder View"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Grouping Desktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Desktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Grouping Panel"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::getCurrentMapKey: window type 0
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::getCurrentMapKey: New active window with class.class: "Skype"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Empty Panel"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Grid Desktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Newspaper Layout"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Desktop Dashboard"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "SaverDesktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Folder View"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Grouping Desktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Desktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Grouping Panel"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::getCurrentMapKey: window type -1
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::getCurrentMapKey: New active window with class.class: ""
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Empty Panel"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Grid Desktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Newspaper Layout"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Desktop Dashboard"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "SaverDesktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Folder View"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Grouping Desktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Desktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Grouping Panel"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::getCurrentMapKey: window type 0
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::getCurrentMapKey: New active window with class.class: "Akregator"
kded(4362) FavIconsModule::slotData: Favicon too big, aborting download of KUrl("http://www.mediawatch.com/favicon.ico")
"/usr/bin/kactivitymanagerd(4378)" Soprano: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply - Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken."
"/usr/bin/kactivitymanagerd(4378)" Soprano: "QLocalSocket::connectToServer: Invalid name"
kded(4362) KDEDModule::setModuleName: registerObject() successful for "kssld"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] Using Virtuoso Version: "6.1.4.3127-pthreads"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] Using Virtuoso Version: "6.1.4.3127-pthreads"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] void Soprano::VirtuosoController::writeConfigFile(const QString&, const BackendSettings&) "/tmp/virtuoso_nS4629.ini"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] Starting Virtuoso server: "/usr/bin/virtuoso-t" ("+foreground", "+configfile", "/tmp/virtuoso_nS4629.ini", "+wait")
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "
"
" Thu Aug 29 2013
"
"10:43:19 OpenLink Virtuoso Universal Server
"
"10:43:19 Version 06.01.3127-pthreads for Linux as of Apr 17 2013
"
"10:43:19 uses parts of OpenSSL, PCRE, Html Tidy
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "10:43:21 Database version 3126
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "10:43:22 Entering Lite Mode
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "10:43:22 SQL Optimizer enabled (max 1000 layouts)
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "10:43:23 GPF: insert.c:151 page read with no key defd
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "GPF: insert.c:151 page read with no key defd
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] Virtuoso server stopped: 2
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub(4629)" Soprano: "Failed to start Virtuoso"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub(4629)" Soprano: "Failed to start Virtuoso"
"/usr/bin/kactivitymanagerd(4378)" Soprano: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnknownObject - No such object path '/org/soprano/Server'"
"/usr/bin/krunner(4634)" Soprano: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnknownObject - No such object path '/org/soprano/Server'"
"/usr/bin/kactivitymanagerd(4378)" Soprano: "QLocalSocket::connectToServer: Invalid name"
"/usr/bin/krunner(4634)" Soprano: "QLocalSocket::connectToServer: Invalid name"
"/usr/bin/krunner(4634)" Soprano: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnknownObject - No such object path '/org/soprano/Server'"
"/usr/bin/krunner(4634)" Soprano: "QLocalSocket::connectToServer: Invalid name"
krunner(4634)/kio (KDirWatch) KDirWatchPrivate::removeEntry: doesn't know "/home/nick/.kde/share/apps/kabc"
I/O warning : failed to load external entity "/home/nick/.qalculate/eurofxref-daily.xml"
I/O warning : failed to load external entity "/home/nick/.qalculate/eurofxref-daily.xml"
krunner(4634)/libplasma Plasma::Package::isValid: Could not find required file mainscript
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Empty Panel"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Grid Desktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Newspaper Layout"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Desktop Dashboard"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "SaverDesktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Folder View"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Grouping Desktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Desktop"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Grouping Panel"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::getCurrentMapKey: window type -1
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::getCurrentMapKey: New active window with class.class: "krunner"
Database "akonadi" opened using driver "QMYSQL"
QObject: Cannot create children for a parent that is in a different thread.
(Parent is Solid::Backends::UDisks::UDisksDevice(0x2bb3390), parent's thread is QThread(0x25cb260), current thread is ThreadWeaver::Thread(0x2d05f60)
QObject: Cannot create children for a parent that is in a different thread.
(Parent is Solid::Backends::UDisks::UDisksDevice(0x2bb3390), parent's thread is QThread(0x25cb260), current thread is ThreadWeaver::Thread(0x2d05f60)
QObject: Cannot create children for a parent that is in a different thread.
(Parent is Solid::Backends::UDisks::UDisksDevice(0x2bb3390), parent's thread is QThread(0x25cb260), current thread is ThreadWeaver::Thread(0x7f5064003c90)
QObject: Cannot create children for a parent that is in a different thread.
(Parent is Solid::Backends::UDisks::UDisksDevice(0x2bb3390), parent's thread is QThread(0x25cb260), current thread is ThreadWeaver::Thread(0x7f5064003c90)"

AND LATER:

""/usr/bin/nepomukcontroller(4694)" Soprano: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnknownObject - No such object path '/org/soprano/Server'"
"/usr/bin/nepomukcontroller(4694)" Soprano: "QLocalSocket::connectToServer: Invalid name"
"/usr/bin/nepomukcontroller(4694)" Soprano: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnknownObject - No such object path '/org/soprano/Server'"
"/usr/bin/nepomukcontroller(4694)" Soprano: "QLocalSocket::connectToServer: Invalid name"
"/usr/bin/nepomukcontroller(4694)" Soprano: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnknownObject - No such object path '/org/soprano/Server'"
"/usr/bin/nepomukcontroller(4694)" Soprano: "Unsupported operation (2)": "Invalid model"
"/usr/bin/nepomukcontroller(4694)" Soprano: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnknownObject - No such object path '/org/soprano/Server'"
"/usr/bin/nepomukcontroller(4694)" Soprano: "Unsupported operation (2)": "Invalid model"
"/usr/bin/nepomukcontroller(4694)" Soprano: "Unsupported operation (2)": "Invalid model"
kded(4362) LayoutMemory::windowChanged: applets "Empty Panel""
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
It looks like Nepomuk may be crashing. Do the "nepomukserver" and other related processes (including virtuoso-t) remain running throughout the use of the Nepomuk system tray icon, or do their process ID's change?


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
iamsorandom
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0
Yep, they remain running, and their PIDs don't change.

I've noticed that during startup and shutdown one of the terminal lines says
[fail] virtuoso -t open source is disabled, or something similiar.

Do you have any idea how I would go about fixing/enabling this?
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
2268
Karma
5
OS
Can you post those exact lines? These may be the clue to fixing the problem.


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
iamsorandom
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0
OK, will try and take them down next time I'm starting up. Thanks!
iamsorandom
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0
OK, so the startup shutdown errors are not the problem (perhaps they were a sympton). They said something about virtuoso-open-source being disabled in /etc/default/virtuoso...

I went to that file and enabled virtuso (changed enabled from =no to =yes). Now on startup it shows green, and says that virtuoso is enabled. However, I am getting exactly the same problem as before.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
KDE will start Virtuoso itself, as needed - it won't use a system wide Virtuoso server, even if it is present.

Can you please run the following two commands in a terminal, and post the full output here?
Code: Select all
qdbus org.kde.NepomukServer /nepomukserver quit
nepomukserver

Make sure you wait approximately 30 to 60 seconds between the two to allow for background operations to complete.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
iamsorandom
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0
Outputs:

*:~$ qdbus org.kde.NepomukServer /nepomukserver quit

*:~$ nepomukserver
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] Using Virtuoso Version: "6.1.4.3127-pthreads"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] Using Virtuoso Version: "6.1.4.3127-pthreads"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] void Soprano::VirtuosoController::writeConfigFile(const QString&, const BackendSettings&) "/tmp/virtuoso_S29005.ini"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] Starting Virtuoso server: "/usr/bin/virtuoso-t" ("+foreground", "+configfile", "/tmp/virtuoso_S29005.ini", "+wait")
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] " Mon Sep 09 2013
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "08:54:27 OpenLink Virtuoso Universal Server
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "08:54:27 Version 06.01.3127-pthreads for Linux as of Apr 17 2013
"
"08:54:27 uses parts of OpenSSL, PCRE, Html Tidy
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "08:54:27 Database version 3126
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "08:54:27 Entering Lite Mode
"
"08:54:27 SQL Optimizer enabled (max 1000 layouts)
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "08:54:27 GPF: insert.c:151 page read with no key defd
"
"GPF: insert.c:151 page read with no key defd
"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] Virtuoso server stopped: 2
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub(29005)" Soprano: "Failed to start Virtuoso"
[/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub] "/usr/bin/nepomukservicestub(29005)" Soprano: "Failed to start Virtuoso"




----

The terminal never seemed to complete (I left it quite a few minutes)
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
Please remove the full contents of $(kde4-config --localprefix)/share/apps/nepomuk/repository/ outside KDE.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
iamsorandom
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0
OK, would that be the contents of: /home/nick/.kde/share/apps/nepomuk/repository?

I've backed that up and deleted it.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
Hopefully that should solve the issue. If it does not, and you are still receiving the same message when running the previously posted commands, you could be on a buggy version of Virtuoso. In that case, please post the version of Virtuoso you are using.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
iamsorandom
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0
OK, output so far looks promising, its started indexing. Thanks a lot!
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
Not a problem. If the issue does not recur, please make this topic as solved.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], garthecho, Google [Bot], koriun, Majestic-12 [Bot], odysseus-art, pedrorodriguez, Steve Guilford, Yahoo [Bot]