Reply to topic

graph change

User avatar schunka
Registered Member
Posts
39
Karma
0
OS

graph change

Mon Dec 17, 2012 9:06 am
Hi, after new update (1.4.0), my graphs shows different numbres than before.
Before update the main graph shows balance of all my accounts in time. Which I find useful as it says if I'm saving or spending and also if I'm close to broke or to some line I didn't want to cross.
Now it shows cummulated sum of spending each day, which could be pretty boring graph when money didn't flow, and also it only says that on particular day I spend or earn more but in really weird way.
I read changelist and I understand performance issues which leads to throwing away older values. But could you somehow use a balance value as a starter for a graph an draw it from there.

Simply put:
when omitting older values take a balance for the day you start drawing a graph so the values stays actual.
I know that it may be more problematic as you can graph different stuff.
Or another idea, for me, I don't care about performace or I can wait for result, so why don't you make it optional (to omit older values as default) somewhere in a settings.

To get anyone in the picture more easily:
last four years I was saving for reconsturction of a house
this year I spend a lot for material and work...
but when I look at the graph showing me how are my savings it says i'm totally broke, but when I extend that to 5 year period I'm way above zero. That is the problem I see in thins new computing.
User avatar gdebure
Global Moderator
Posts
114
Karma
1
OS

Tue Dec 18, 2012 8:22 pm
I'm not sure I got this right... Can you post a screenshot, please ?


Skrooge, a personal finances manager powered by KDE4
http://skrooge.org
User avatar schunka
Registered Member
Posts
39
Karma
0
OS

Re: graph change

Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm
Ok I only post the graph part, because when I anonymized the data, the result graph looks different (to be precise it looks like waterslide).
this is the graph for 3 year long time interval (from 3 years back to now)
Image

this is the graph for 1 year long time interval (from 1 year back to now)
Image

Problem for me is in the second one it looks like I'm mostly in red numbers, while looking in a 3 year long time period there are just few moments I was in red.
What I want, is to view just 1 year back, but with the real amounts on that accounts.

The 3 year long graph has all the data thus showing real ammounts.

Do you need any other info about that.
User avatar gdebure
Global Moderator
Posts
114
Karma
1
OS

Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:48 pm
Hmm, if I understood correctly, looks like the "one year" graph starts at 0€, without taking into account the values from before... Definitely a bug. Can you please open a report on http://bugs.kde.org, please ?

Thanks,

Guillaume


Skrooge, a personal finances manager powered by KDE4
http://skrooge.org
User avatar smankowski
Moderator
Posts
291
Karma
3
OS

Re: graph change  Topic is solved

Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:15 pm
Hi,

I did a correction for this regression.


Skrooge, a personal finances manager powered by KDE4
http://skrooge.org

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: alake, Alexa [Bot], Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Blingy, Deevad, edmael, einar, Exabot [Bot], garthecho, Google [Bot], google01103, GreatEmerald, haroldtejada, jfredrickson, koriun, lazyit, legnaVI, Majestic-12 [Bot], newtonnickel, parzt, pedrorodriguez, Tuukka, W3C [Validator], Yahoo [Bot]