Reply to topic

KMail filtering multiple mails

User avatar Gigadoc 2
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
OS

KMail filtering multiple mails

Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:42 pm
Hello,

Currently my mailbox is cluttered with 3000+ unread mails, mostly coming from various mailinglists. Therefore I created some folders, and corresponding filters, in order to sort my mails.

The filters are working, as long as I apply them to one mail only. If i try to select multiple mails at once, and apply the filters, either no mail, or the first and the last mail are moved, but never all of them.

I don't know if this is how it is intended to work, or if this is a bug, but I don't want to select every single mail and apply the filters. So I would be glad if someone knows a way to work around this ;)
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
2269
Karma
5
OS

Re: KMail filtering multiple mails

Tue Jul 10, 2012 7:38 am
I'm not sure it will fix your problem, but for 4.9 RC2 the filtering was substantially changed to solve various bugs. I would recommend to use 4.9 when it's out and file a bug if it still doesn't work then.


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
User avatar Gigadoc 2
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
OS

Re: KMail filtering multiple mails

Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:45 pm
Well, I tried using KMail again, this time version 4.9.2, and I still cannot use filters, same bug as stated before.

Now, before filing a bug report, I would like to know if I am maybe just doing it wrong. What I tried was creating a filter from the context-menu, trying both filtering by mailinglist, or filtering by recipient. Afterwards I set a folder to move the mail to, and changed nothing else.

So, is this the correct way to create a filter which can be applied to an arbitrary number of mails, or am I just missing something?
sinclair
Registered Member
Posts
158
Karma
0
OS

Re: KMail filtering multiple mails

Wed Nov 07, 2012 1:31 pm
Gigadoc 2 wrote:Well, I tried using KMail again, this time version 4.9.2, and I still cannot use filters, same bug as stated before.

Now, before filing a bug report, I would like to know if I am maybe just doing it wrong. What I tried was creating a filter from the context-menu, trying both filtering by mailinglist, or filtering by recipient. Afterwards I set a folder to move the mail to, and changed nothing else.

So, is this the correct way to create a filter which can be applied to an arbitrary number of mails, or am I just missing something?


not sure about "correct" but I chose 1 mail, then use "create filter" from context-menu and most of the time it works. Am not sure if I have tried selecting many mails and then "apply all filters" though (have very few mail in inbox, normally filter them to various subfolders on fetching)

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: alake, Artmessiah, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], bjoernbalazs, blue_bullet, Charblaze, dniitall, edmael, Exabot [Bot], franku, GentooSimon, Google [Bot], google01103, jensreuterberg, jgrulich, jitseniesen, ken300, koriun, Kver, La Ninje, lazyit, lucyandfatty, Majestic-12 [Bot], Mamarok, MiceAreVeryNice, odysseus-art, okias, robinh, Steve Guilford, urgo, wes33, Yahoo [Bot]