Reply to topic

kde splash jumbled up

User avatar ryanvade
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS

kde splash jumbled up

Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:58 am
Hello. I am having this weird problem with my splash screens. Here is a picture
http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh555/ryanvade/splash-problem_zps6726fd91.png

maybe it is because I am using dual screens? Another splash I installed is also doing this. Every time I login in, the jumbled images are different.

Any idea's?
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18614
Karma
83
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:24 am
Those "jumbled" images actually look like graphics card data corruption to me. Does the final desktop you reach look correct? You could be exceeding the limits of your graphics card.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
User avatar ryanvade
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:25 pm
My final Desktop is fine. My graphics card is a Geforce GT 520 2gb. I have no problems with it. The "normal" fedora splash is fine. Just these two splashes.
User avatar ryanvade
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:00 pm
no other reply? really? :'(
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18614
Karma
83
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:02 am
Sorry, was busy with some real life matters.

Are you able to reproduce this under a new user? (Just making sure some cache doesn't contain corrupted contents of what the splash should be).


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
User avatar ryanvade
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:26 am
I apologize for my late response. I finally got cuda 5 working ;D

And as for what my second post..sorry. :< I was just upset about not having my favourite splash working.
Yes it happens to new users. What do you think it is?
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18614
Karma
83
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:23 am
I'm not sure what is causing this actually, it could be possible that the background image is somehow missing.
If you ensure Desktop Effects are disabled, then logout and back in again, does the splash appear properly?


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
User avatar ryanvade
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Mon Oct 29, 2012 8:55 pm
I disabled Desktop effects. It still happens.
Start-up is faster though. But yes still happening.
User avatar toad
Global Moderator
Posts
876
Karma
6
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Tue Oct 30, 2012 6:30 am
What splash is it - could you post a link so I can try it? Have you updated it recently/when did the problem first occur? Hm, just reread your first post - unfortunately I haven't got a dual monitor setup :(


Sid
User avatar ryanvade
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:34 pm
http://opendesktop.org/content/show.php/sci+2010?content=144067
I can't find the other one, the file is called zCity.
User avatar ryanvade
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS
User avatar toad
Global Moderator
Posts
876
Karma
6
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:42 pm
What about standard splashs - do they misbehave as well?


Sid
User avatar ryanvade
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:21 pm
No. the default Fedora splash is fine.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18614
Karma
83
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Wed Oct 31, 2012 8:19 am
It is possible that the Splash screens you are trying to use have corrupted images for sizes your system needs, or are entirely missing them (causing KDE to fallback to displaying nothing - hence the jumble of corrupted imagery as uninitialized graphics memory is shown).


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
User avatar ryanvade
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS

Re: kde splash jumbled up

Sat Nov 03, 2012 6:04 am
I thought that too. I took the images and enlarged them with gimp. twice my desktop size....Ugly but still worth a try. It didn't work. :'(

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: alake, anditosan, apater, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], einar, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], google01103, koriun, La Ninje, lazyit, Majestic-12 [Bot], Mechatronic, mmistretta, paulus3005, pbCyanide, pedrorodriguez, random_fan, Robert Leleu, SeaJey, Sentynel, Sogatori, vascobasque, whatthefunk, Yahoo [Bot]