Reply to topic

Getting audio working in Kubuntu 9.10

User avatar Dante Ashton
Registered Member
Posts
525
Karma
3
OS
Hey all.

I reinstalled Kubuntu 9.10 earlier today, but I can't for the life of me think of how to get audio working for flash videos and VLC...any ideas?


Dante Ashton, in the KDE Community since 2008-Nov.
-Artificial Intelligence Specialist.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
Even if you have removed Pulseaudio, some components can remain which hinder function. Check to see if libflashsupport is installed and remove it if you have disabled Pulseaudio. Don't know about VLC.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
User avatar Dante Ashton
Registered Member
Posts
525
Karma
3
OS
Pulseaudio was installed due to a bug in 9.04, in 9.10, that bug has since been corrected.

No, libflash is not installed.


Dante Ashton, in the KDE Community since 2008-Nov.
-Artificial Intelligence Specialist.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
If you have no other application trying to use the Audio device in any way ( you may need to kill knotify4 ) will they function?


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
User avatar Dante Ashton
Registered Member
Posts
525
Karma
3
OS
Amarok still functions, but it eems like a problem I had in the past, I'm willing to bet that if flash player and vlc and mplayer start producing sound, then Amarok and KDE will not.


Dante Ashton, in the KDE Community since 2008-Nov.
-Artificial Intelligence Specialist.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
You may wish to check that Phonon / VLC are configured to use the DMix audio device, and that it is the default device.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
Yigit Cakar
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
OS
Did you tried alsamixer? I had the same problem and solved it by unmuting channels.
User avatar Dante Ashton
Registered Member
Posts
525
Karma
3
OS
Out of the blue...the whole system started working. I did nothing to it, but now I've got everything going at once...(it might be worth noting that I was trying to get flash player working on YouTube, and it wasnt having it, so I restarted, and now everything works)


Dante Ashton, in the KDE Community since 2008-Nov.
-Artificial Intelligence Specialist.
tlue
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0
Had the same problem (not sound in Amarok, Rhythmbox nor on youtube).
I just uninstalled pulseaudio (see also http://www.computerfrage.net/frage/soun ... buntu-9-10).

Now it works.
User avatar Dante Ashton
Registered Member
Posts
525
Karma
3
OS
I've uninstalled Pulseaudio and set a few things to GStreamer (that seems to be the only way to get VLC and whatnot started, it magically gets itself into a working state after a few days...odd, I know)

I'm afraid to say I've given up on KDE; if it wasnt sound, then it was gtk+ apps that would hog resources. If it wasnt THAT it was the lack of some basic functions (like formatting floppies and usb sticks without having to go through the terminal) and the inability to search for files properly (Strigi would only come up with some results to a given query, whereas Tracker or Beagle would come up with dozens, always getting the one I want) and let's not mention Firefox, ok?

I do love KDE, but I'm afraid I've given up. Sorry guys :( I'll keep an ear out and if anyone comes up with any good solutions (native firefox support, Strigi behaving like a search tool for users, easy formatting and gtk apps working happly, as well as WINE) then I'll be back.


-Dante


Dante Ashton, in the KDE Community since 2008-Nov.
-Artificial Intelligence Specialist.
User avatar Eruaran
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
Most of your problems are not even KDE issues, Ubuntu users with Gnome desktops have encountered the same issues. The sound solution is actually quite simple, click on volume icon in systray and click on mixer and make sure PCM or the master volume is up on full, also unmute anything else. You can also achieve the same result at the terminal: type 'sudo alsamixer', enter your password and turn things up there to achieve the same result. I would usually be more willing to help with any other issues as well but I get tired of people who blame KDE for anything and everything that is actually a distribution specific issue and not directly related to KDE. That kind of thing has really gotten tiresome. If you're tired of Canonical breaking stuff with each new release and not giving Kubuntu enough love, then switch to another distro. I'm switching to Arch.
User avatar Dante Ashton
Registered Member
Posts
525
Karma
3
OS
I assume they are KDE issues because when I have a consistant problem accross distros, all of which were using KDE, then I have no choice to either think it's a KDE issue or that I'm an idiot.

For the record, the problem was solved by alsamixer.


Dante Ashton, in the KDE Community since 2008-Nov.
-Artificial Intelligence Specialist.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
Note that you should always report crashes you encounter, so that they can be fixed. If you encounter broken behaviour, that should also be reported.

Flash is a Gtk+ application, which when it isn't using Pulseaudio depends on the functioning of DMix and the first sound device it finds. In this case it is possible it finds the incorrect sound device.

Kubuntu is not even close to Vanilla KDE. See for instance the notifications work which Kubuntu patches in.

I use KDE Trunk on openSUSE 11.2 and Flash / Amarok / notification audio all plays without issues.
KRunner is a touch unstable at this time, but that will likely get rectified during the Tokamak 4 sprint. I haven't seen a Plasma crash for a very long time.

Also, can you please define "make HDMI work on a KDE4 system". Do you mean audio or video? For audio, placing the item to the top of the list in System Settings > Multimedia will make KDE 4 applications use that device. KRandRTray can help with the visuals.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
User avatar Dante Ashton
Registered Member
Posts
525
Karma
3
OS
viewtopic.php?f=63&t=84725 links to a post on here which might solve some very basic problems for you, Mart.

and does anyone have any information on this Kubuntu HDMI bug? I'm using the Nvida chipset (with closed driver) if thats of any help...


Dante Ashton, in the KDE Community since 2008-Nov.
-Artificial Intelligence Specialist.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
I believe Arch offers Vanilla KDE.

Note that for bug reports if you have sufficient debugging symbols installed and it says the backtrace is good, then as long as you know approximately how you caused it then it is sufficient to report.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: AGB, airdrik, alake, artsymptom, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], boudewijn, codetonic, colomar, einar, Exabot [Bot], garthecho, ggael, Google [Bot], google01103, ingwa, jgrulich, ken300, koriun, La Ninje, lunzhy, Majestic-12 [Bot], MSNbot Media, mutlu, NickElliott, odysseus-art, peje, portnov, rkay, sir_herrbatka, Sogatori, Tuukka, Yahoo [Bot], zabastodwa