Reply to topic

akonadi_agent_launcher

constantLogic
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS

akonadi_agent_launcher

Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:53 pm
Just checking, but am I supposed to be concerned that akonadi_agent_launcher is showing up around 40 times, each time taking about 3~3.5mb of RAM?
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4958
Karma
17
OS

Re: akonadi_agent_launcher  Topic is solved

Mon Feb 13, 2012 7:21 pm
doubtful, I have 4 but I don't really use KDE Pim so not sure what correct number should be

from https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=278332

------- Comment #5 From Christophe Giboudeaux 2011-08-30 16:14:27 (-) [reply] -------
probably means the migration went wrong and you now have duplicate resources.
You can clean your configured resources in systemsettings / "Personal
Information"


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.
constantLogic
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS

Re: akonadi_agent_launcher

Mon Feb 13, 2012 7:54 pm
Thanks, but I don't speak (Russian, I'm guessing) and there's very little information I can gain from that, except that they didn't have a clean install, which I do, so I'm not sure where I would have migrated from?

If it helps, Nepomuk is disabled.

Edit: I went to have a look at the settings under there and it's correct - for whatever reason Personal Contacts had somehow managed to clone itself that many times.

I don't even use any of these resources. Is there a way to permanently turn them off?
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4958
Karma
17
OS

Re: akonadi_agent_launcher

Mon Feb 13, 2012 8:20 pm
can't you just delete the cloned Personal Contacts in systemsettings-> "Personal Information" ?

to disable Akonadi http://userbase.kde.org/Akonadi#Disabli ... _subsystem and http://mschlander.wordpress.com/2011/08 ... de-sc-4-7/ BUT remember any app or widget that uses Akonadi will start it up


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.
constantLogic
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS

Re: akonadi_agent_launcher

Mon Feb 13, 2012 8:55 pm
I did, but I don't use anything that Akonadi offers, so it's useless to have it running on my system at all.

In fact, I'm considering using both E17 and KDE to see which one I prefer, or just making my own with Compiz. I don't really need anything KDE has to offer, I just prefer it over where Gnome is going and don't care for the unpolished feel of Openbox/XFCE/etc.

They're great for an older laptop, but not so much for my gaming/dev rig.
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4958
Karma
17
OS

Re: akonadi_agent_launcher

Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:19 pm
Compiz may not be all that viable going forward, then again ......... https://www.google.com/search?client=op ... 6&bih=1015


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.
constantLogic
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS

Re: akonadi_agent_launcher

Tue Feb 14, 2012 2:33 am
People will also claim that Gnome 2 is dead, but I see the Mate fork up and running. I know the situation is a little different, but I could have, had I chose to, stayed with an outdated Gnome 2.

Point being Compiz is the only WM that I'm aware of that provides the "ADHD" features, such as dimming inactive windows, functionality that I, as a web developer plagued with ADHD, pretty much require. Plus (IMO) it provides some pretty nice effects that aren't to be found elsewhere.

I'm somewhat happy with the wobbly windows in KDE, if I adjust them enough, but it doesn't give me "transparent background - see the cube!" effect that I like. It also seems to be a slight resource hog. I'm looking at you, Akonadi. Though thank you for helping me solve what was causing the worst of it.

Honestly, though, if Gnome 3/Unity/Akonadi is the future, I'll gladly stay in the past. I hate every single thing about at least two of those, and I'm still trying to figure out why the third is a requirement.

I also tried out Enlightenment and it's far too "Apple" for my taste.

All I all I suppose I can be lumped in with "the old users". ;]
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4958
Karma
17
OS

Re: akonadi_agent_launcher

Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:24 am
There is an dim inactive effect if you need it in KDE
Image

You do have additional alternatives:

- Kwin can be used as the window manager in XFCE

- There is a fork of KDE 3 called the Trinity project http://www.trinitydesktop.org

- Mint has a fork of Gnome 3 that has it look and feel like Gnome 2 (iirc) http://cinnamon.linuxmint.com/


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.
User avatar MirceaKitsune
Registered Member
Posts
131
Karma
0
OS

Re: akonadi_agent_launcher

Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:34 pm
I've been having the same issue, and looked around for a solution. I found an explanation or at least a workaround for the problem, which I posted in the bug report.

[SOLVED / WORKAROUND]

I found the cause for this problem (at least what it was for me). Go to the Akonadi Configuration menu and the Akonadi Resource Configuration tab. Each entry in that list will spawn an akonadi_agent_launcher process. In my case I had about 40 which were duplicates, abandoned and / or useless. I deleted them and only kept 5. Now I have only 5 akonadi_agent_launcher processes, and a few others that begin with akonadi.

So if there's a bug, it's why so many orphaned entries are added to that list. But that could have been other applications adding them there or something... no idea.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Annorax, Baidu [Spider], bcooksley, Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], garthecho, Google [Bot], Hans, koriun, La Ninje, Naver Yeti [Spider], pedrorodriguez, Steve Guilford, valoriez, Wiz, Yahoo [Bot], šumski