Reply to topic

Suspend from KDM

kde-deshmukh
Registered Member
Posts
63
Karma
0

Suspend from KDM

Wed Jun 19, 2013 3:32 pm
I am running KDE 4.10.3 on Ubuntu 13.04.

I did sudo dpkg-reconfigure kdm to set it as my display/ login manager.

One thing I miss a lot is KDM does not provide a suspend option. Is it a missing setting in my set-up or a missing feature in KDM?
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
4960
Karma
17
OS

Re: Suspend from KDM

Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:06 pm
Suspend (sleep) on my system does show

Why did you reconfigure KDM?
What display manager was being used? did suspend show/work on the earlier dm?
Does hibernate work/show?

I recall seeing something about a Ubuntu suspend bug(s), you should search their bug system as it might be distro specific


OpenSuse 13.1 x64, KDE 4.12.x

Problem solved? Please click on Image below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18614
Karma
83
OS

Re: Suspend from KDM

Thu Jun 20, 2013 5:17 am
Are you able to suspend from within KDE itself?


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
kde-deshmukh
Registered Member
Posts
63
Karma
0

Re: Suspend from KDM

Thu Jun 20, 2013 5:45 am
@google01013,

I did dpkg-reconfigure to assign KDM as my display manager/ login manager. Earlier, it was set to GDM. Even before that, it was set to LightDM.

And yes, in both GDM and LightDM, suspend was being shown as an option and it was working as expected.

I can't see hibernate either in KDM. It only shows shutdown, restart, restart X server, etc.

@bcooksley

I am able to suspend from KDE in both ways -- automatically when I put the lid of the laptop down and from Krunner by typing sleep -- it suggests suspend to RAM.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18614
Karma
83
OS

Re: Suspend from KDM

Thu Jun 20, 2013 7:52 am
Okay. If you click and hold on either Shutdown or Restart, do any further options appear in the drop down, allowing you to select other methods such as Sleep?


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
kde-deshmukh
Registered Member
Posts
63
Karma
0

Re: Suspend from KDM

Fri Jun 21, 2013 6:03 am
@bcooksley:

The power button in KDM when clicked with mouse and held, produces no result.

On click on release, it gives a menu (a) Switch user (b) Restart X server (c) Remote login (d) Console login and (e) shutdown --- I may be slightly incorrect in terms of exact words.

The last option i.e. shutdown, when clicked produces a box giving option to shutdown or restart. There is no sleep/ hibernate anywhere.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18614
Karma
83
OS

Re: Suspend from KDM

Tue Jun 25, 2013 9:26 am
Okay - I've just checked the KDM code. I'm afraid the sources as shipped by KDE do not include any support for hibernate (suspend to disk) or sleep (suspend to ram) unfortunately.

I suspect openSUSE may have a patch which adds this functionality, although I could not locate it on their OBS. There is definite evidence of patching in the binaries installed on my system, as they have functions present in them which drive suspend functionality.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
wolfi323
Registered Member
Posts
230
Karma
0
OS

Re: Suspend from KDM

Tue Jun 25, 2013 1:19 pm
bcooksley wrote:Okay - I've just checked the KDM code. I'm afraid the sources as shipped by KDE do not include any support for hibernate (suspend to disk) or sleep (suspend to ram) unfortunately.

I suspect openSUSE may have a patch which adds this functionality, although I could not locate it on their OBS. There is definite evidence of patching in the binaries installed on my system, as they have functions present in them which drive suspend functionality.

Well, I don't have that option to suspend/hibernate from KDM on my openSUSE system either (12.3 with KDE 4.10.4). So I don't think they have a patch for that included.

But that option was there in earlier KDE versions.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18614
Karma
83
OS

Re: Suspend from KDM

Wed Jun 26, 2013 9:42 am
Turns out that it may have been a openSUSE specific patch, back when HAL was still around - https://build.opensuse.org/package/view ... 66171cd375


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
2279
Karma
5
OS

Re: Suspend from KDM

Thu Jun 27, 2013 5:40 am
Currently KDM is patched to support systemd and other PM bits, but I'm not sure if this is available in any released openSUSE version. I'll check.


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
wolfi323
Registered Member
Posts
230
Karma
0
OS

Re: Suspend from KDM

Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:26 am
einar wrote:Currently KDM is patched to support systemd and other PM bits, but I'm not sure if this is available in any released openSUSE version. I'll check.

It isn't in KDE:Distro:Factory either. At least not in the 4.10.80 packages I installed in a VM... ;)

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Dimitrios, drnn1076, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], google01103, Horus, koriun, Majestic-12 [Bot], pbCyanide, pedrorodriguez, random_fan, scummos, SeaJey, Sogatori, Sogou [Bot], TheraHedwig, vascobasque, whatthefunk, Yahoo [Bot], yurchor, z-uo