Reply to topic

monitor/display settings not persistent since openSUSE 13.1

User avatar sledz
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0
OS
Since openSUSE 13.1 there is no option in the system settings to save monitor/display settings "as default" so they are lost for each new session. :(

If i change the settings for a single windows (e.g. moving it from "Desktop 1" to "All Desktops") this change is also not persistent since this update. :(

Is this a bug or a changed behaviour?
How can i make these settings persistent?
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
2291
Karma
5
OS
Can you check whether you have "kscreen" installed?


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
User avatar sledz
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0
OS
Yes it is.

# rpm -q -i kscreen
Name : kscreen
Version : 1.0.2.1
Release : 3.4.1
Architecture: x86_64
Install Date: Wed Dec 4 15:29:15 2013
Group : System/GUI/KDE
Size : 457840
License : GPL-2.0+
Signature : RSA/SHA256, Wed Dec 4 12:57:54 2013, Key ID b88b2fd43dbdc284
Source RPM : kscreen-1.0.2.1-3.4.1.src.rpm
Build Date : Thu Nov 28 13:23:50 2013
Build Host : cloud128
Relocations : (not relocatable)
Packager : http://bugs.opensuse.org
Vendor : openSUSE
URL : http://www.kde.org
Summary : KDE's screen management software
Description :
The new KDE screen management software
Distribution: openSUSE 13.1
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18688
Karma
83
OS
Does this behaviour occur under a new user? KScreen is supposed to retain the last known resolution for each screen it is aware of.
Also, which graphics driver does your system use?


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
User avatar sledz
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0
OS
It occurs for news users and for users created before making the distribution upgrade.

Also i've the problem at least at two different systems, a desktop and a notebook.

# hwinfo --gfxcard
26: PCI 100.0: 0300 VGA compatible controller (VGA)
[Created at pci.319]
Unique ID: VCu0.aiHZfenAOj2
Parent ID: vSkL.JdIZgDLdGg5
SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0
SysFS BusID: 0000:01:00.0
Hardware Class: graphics card
Model: "ATI RV516 [Radeon X1300/X1550 Series]"
Vendor: pci 0x1002 "ATI Technologies Inc"
Device: pci 0x7183 "RV516 [Radeon X1300/X1550 Series]"
SubVendor: pci 0x1028 "Dell"
SubDevice: pci 0x0d02
Driver: "radeon"
Driver Modules: "drm"
Memory Range: 0xc0000000-0xcfffffff (ro,non-prefetchable)
Memory Range: 0xdfde0000-0xdfdeffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
I/O Ports: 0xdc00-0xdcff (rw)
Memory Range: 0xdfe00000-0xdfe1ffff (ro,non-prefetchable,disabled)
IRQ: 16 (179598 events)
I/O Ports: 0x3c0-0x3df (rw)
Module Alias: "pci:v00001002d00007183sv00001028sd00000D02bc03sc00i00"
Driver Info #0:
Driver Status: radeon is active
Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe radeon"
Config Status: cfg=no, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
Attached to: #10 (PCI bridge)

27: PCI 100.1: 0380 Display controller
[Created at pci.319]
Unique ID: NXNs.bcVrYw36tO6
Parent ID: vSkL.JdIZgDLdGg5
SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1
SysFS BusID: 0000:01:00.1
Hardware Class: graphics card
Model: "ATI RV516 [Radeon X1300 Pro] (Secondary)"
Vendor: pci 0x1002 "ATI Technologies Inc"
Device: pci 0x71a3 "RV516 [Radeon X1300 Pro] (Secondary)"
SubVendor: pci 0x1028 "Dell"
SubDevice: pci 0x0d03
Memory Range: 0xdfdf0000-0xdfdfffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
Module Alias: "pci:v00001002d000071A3sv00001028sd00000D03bc03sc80i00"
Config Status: cfg=no, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
Attached to: #10 (PCI bridge)

Primary display adapter: #26


# hwinfo --gfxcard
10: PCI 02.0: 0300 VGA compatible controller (VGA)
[Created at pci.319]
Unique ID: _Znp.dEhyodaowd1
SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0
SysFS BusID: 0000:00:02.0
Hardware Class: graphics card
Model: "Intel Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller"
Vendor: pci 0x8086 "Intel Corporation"
Device: pci 0x2a42 "Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller"
SubVendor: pci 0x1028 "Dell"
SubDevice: pci 0x024d
Revision: 0x07
Driver: "i915"
Driver Modules: "drm"
Memory Range: 0xf6c00000-0xf6ffffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
Memory Range: 0xe0000000-0xefffffff (ro,non-prefetchable)
I/O Ports: 0xef70-0xef77 (rw)
IRQ: 45 (16478 events)
I/O Ports: 0x3c0-0x3df (rw)
Module Alias: "pci:v00008086d00002A42sv00001028sd0000024Dbc03sc00i00"
Driver Info #0:
Driver Status: i915 is active
Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe i915"
Config Status: cfg=no, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown

11: PCI 02.1: 0380 Display controller
[Created at pci.319]
Unique ID: ruGf.8h2biTtSCF7
SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.1
SysFS BusID: 0000:00:02.1
Hardware Class: graphics card
Model: "Intel Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller"
Vendor: pci 0x8086 "Intel Corporation"
Device: pci 0x2a43 "Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller"
SubVendor: pci 0x1028 "Dell"
SubDevice: pci 0x024d
Revision: 0x07
Memory Range: 0xf6b00000-0xf6bfffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
Module Alias: "pci:v00008086d00002A43sv00001028sd0000024Dbc03sc80i00"
Config Status: cfg=no, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown

Primary display adapter: #10
User avatar sledz
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0
OS
Can someone give some tipps in which logfiles i can look for suspicious entries?

In which files these settings are stored? May be i can have i look into them.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18688
Karma
83
OS
Your settings should be stored in kscreen configuration files, which can be found either in ~/.kde4/share/config/ or ~/.kde4/share/apps/.
In terms of log files, the best I can suggest is ~/.xsession-errors, after enabling all debug areas using kdebugdialog.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
lbranum
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
The problem I have is a wide band of non usable space around the desktop. The resolution shown is correct (1280 X1024). I guess like most things it kinda works and I can not find out how to fix it. Thanks
luebking
Registered Member
Posts
933
Karma
7
try "xrandr --auto", but this seems rather off topic to this thread?
User avatar sledz
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0
OS
The problem's are still there. Especially the reset of the displays is really annoying. :(

The details: I've a saved session with two 1600x1200 displays DVI-0 (primary) and DVI-1 side-by-side. Each time after a new login DVI-0 ist disabled.

I've enabled KSRandr and KSRandr11 with kdebugconfig and here's the result:
/etc/X11/xim: Checking whether an input method should be started.
sourcing /etc/sysconfig/language to get the value of INPUT_METHOD
INPUT_METHOD is not set or empty (no user selected input method).
Trying to start a default input method for the locale de_DE.UTF-8 ...
Checking for a default input method in /etc/X11/xim.d/de/
sourcing /etc/X11/xim.d/de/40-ibus ...
/etc/X11/xim.d/de/40-ibus started sucessfully
startkde: Starting up...
Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
kbuildsycoca4 running...
kded(6392)/KSRandr11 XRandRX11Helper::XRandRX11Helper: Detected XRandR 1.4
kded(6392)/KSRandr11 XRandRX11Helper::XRandRX11Helper: Event Base: 89
kded(6392)/KSRandr11 XRandRX11Helper::XRandRX11Helper: Event Error: 147
This backend is only for XRandR 1.1, your version is: 1 . 3
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::XRandRX11Helper: Detected XRandR 1.4
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::XRandRX11Helper: Event Base: 89
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::XRandRX11Helper: Event Error: 147
QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::deviceFound(Device*) to BlueDevilDaemon::deviceFound(Device*)
QObject::connect: Cannot connect QTimer::timeout() to (null)::stopDiscovery()
No outputs have backlight property
QDBusConnection: name 'org.kde.kglobalaccel' had owner '' but we thought it was ':1.14'
Object::connect: No such signal org::freedesktop::UPower::DeviceAdded(QDBusObjectPath)
Object::connect: No such signal org::freedesktop::UPower::DeviceRemoved(QDBusObjectPath)
QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::resourceScoreUpdated(QString, QString, QString, double) to NepomukPlugin::resourceScoreUpdated(QString, QString, QString, double)
QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::recentStatsDeleted(QString, int, QString) to NepomukPlugin::deleteRecentStats(QString, int, QString)
QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::earlierStatsDeleted(QString, int) to NepomukPlugin::deleteEarlierStats(QString, int)
QInotifyFileSystemWatcherEngine::addPaths: inotify_add_watch failed: No such file or directory
QFileSystemWatcher: failed to add paths: /home/sledz/.kde4/share/config/activitymanager-pluginsrc
kded(6392)/KSRandr: BEGIN: Applying KScreen Config
kded(6392)/KSRandr : BEGIN: Calculating screen size
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::screenSize: Output: "DVI-0" Size: QSize(1600, 1200) Pos: QPoint(0,0)
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::screenSize: Disabled/Disconnected output: "S-video"
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::screenSize: Output: "DVI-1" Size: QSize(1600, 1200) Pos: QPoint(1600,0)
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::screenSize: Requested screen size is QSize(3200, 1200)
kded(6392)/KSRandr : END__: Calculating screen size [Took: 0s]
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandR::outputCrtc: Output 83 has CRTC 79
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::applyKScreenConfig: 2
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::applyKScreenConfig: Actions to perform:
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::applyKScreenConfig: Primary Output: 81
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::applyKScreenConfig: Screen Size: true
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::applyKScreenConfig: Old: QSize(1600, 1200)
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::applyKScreenConfig: New: QSize(3200, 1200)
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::applyKScreenConfig: Disable outputs: false
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::applyKScreenConfig: Change outputs: true
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::applyKScreenConfig: (83)
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::applyKScreenConfig: Enable outputs: false
kded(6392)/KSRandr : BEGIN: Setting screen size
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::setScreenSize: DPI: 96.1514
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::setScreenSize: Size: QSize(3200, 1200)
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::setScreenSize: QSize(3200, 1200) 845 x 317
kded(6392)/KSRandr : END__: Setting screen size [Took: 0s]
kded(6392)/KSRandr : BEGIN: Change output
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::changeOutput: Updating: 83 with CRTC 79
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRConfig::changeOutput: XRRSetCrtcConfig() returned 0
kded(6392)/KSRandr : END__: Change output [Took: 0.012s]
kded(6392)/KSRandr: END__: Applying KScreen Config [Took: 0.013s]
kded(6392)/KSRandr: BEGIN: RRNotify_OutputChange
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Output: 81
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: CRTC: 79
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Mode: 85
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Rotation: "RR_Rotate_0"
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Connection: "RR_Connected"
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Subpixel Order: 1
kded(6392)/KSRandr: END__: RRNotify_OutputChange [Took: 0s]
kded(6392)/KSRandr: BEGIN: RRNotify_CrtcChange
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: CRTC: 79
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Mode: 85
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Rotation: "RR_Rotate_0"
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Geometry: 1600 0 1600 1200
kded(6392)/KSRandr: END__: RRNotify_CrtcChange [Took: 0s]
kded(6392)/KSRandr: BEGIN: RRNotify_OutputChange
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Output: 81
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: CRTC: 0
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Mode: 0
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Rotation: "RR_Rotate_0"
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Connection: "RR_Connected"
kded(6392)/KSRandr XRandRX11Helper::x11Event: Subpixel Order: 1
kded(6392)/KSRandr: END__: RRNotify_OutputChange [Took: 0s]
kded(6392) PowerDevil::Core::loadProfile: The profile "AC" tried to activate "DimDisplay" a non existent action. This is usually due to an installation problem or to a configuration problem. or simlpy the action is not supported
kwin(6885): ""fsrestore1" - conversion of "0,0,0,0" to QRect failed"
kwin(6885): ""fsrestore2" - conversion of "0,0,0,0" to QRect failed"
kwin(6885): ""fsrestore3" - conversion of "0,0,0,0" to QRect failed"
kwin(6885): ""fsrestore4" - conversion of "0,0,0,0" to QRect failed"
kwin(6885): ""fsrestore5" - conversion of "0,0,0,0" to QRect failed"
kwin(6885): ""fsrestore6" - conversion of "0,0,0,0" to QRect failed"
kwin(6885): ""fsrestore7" - conversion of "0,0,0,0" to QRect failed"
kwin(6885): ""fsrestore8" - conversion of "0,0,0,0" to QRect failed"
QCoreApplication::sendPostedEvents: Cannot send posted events for objects in another thread
QCoreApplication::sendPostedEvents: Cannot send posted events for objects in another thread
QCoreApplication::sendPostedEvents: Cannot send posted events for objects in another thread
QCoreApplication::sendPostedEvents: Cannot send posted events for objects in another thread
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org R300 Project
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV515
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 9.2.3
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
Driver: R300G
GPU class: R500
OpenGL version: 2.1
GLSL version: 1.20
Mesa version: 9.2.3
X server version: 1.14.3
Linux kernel version: 3.11.6
Direct rendering: yes
Requires strict binding: yes
GLSL shaders: limited
Texture NPOT support: limited
Virtual Machine: no
QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
plasma-desktop(6892)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability
Object::connect: No such signal org::freedesktop::UPower::DeviceAdded(QDBusObjectPath)
Object::connect: No such signal org::freedesktop::UPower::DeviceRemoved(QDBusObjectPath)
Object::connect: No such signal org::freedesktop::UPower::DeviceAdded(QDBusObjectPath)
Object::connect: No such signal org::freedesktop::UPower::DeviceRemoved(QDBusObjectPath)
Object::connect: No such signal QDBusAbstractInterface::StateChanged(uint)
QGraphicsLinearLayout::insertItem: cannot insert null item
========================> 7 0
...


Can someone "read" this log and find the problem?
luebking
Registered Member
Posts
933
Karma
7
it suggests that the resolution is set to 3200x1200+0+0, both screens enabled.

"KSRandr and KSRandr11" sounds fishy, though. What's the output of "qdbus org.kde.kded /kded loadedModules"?
User avatar sledz
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0
OS
> qdbus org.kde.kded /kded loadedModules
networkstatus
bluedevil
remotedirnotify
ktouchpadenabler
obexftpdaemon
powerdevil
device_automounter
keyboard
apperd
kscreen
appmenu
favicons
networkmanagement
nepomuksearchmodule
dnssdwatcher
khotkeys
solidautoeject
printmanager
kwrited
kmixd
freespacenotifier
desktopnotifier
ktimezoned
statusnotifierwatcher
luebking
Registered Member
Posts
933
Karma
7
only kscreen seems loaded and that says it activates both screens.

do you have ~/.kde[4]/share/config/krandrrc and what happens if you move it away?
Code: Select all
mv ~/.kde/share/config/krandrrc ~/.kde/share/config/nix.krandrrc
User avatar sledz
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0
OS
> cat ~/.kde4/share/config/krandrrc
[Display]
ApplyOnStartup=true
StartupCommands=xrandr --output DVI-0 --pos 0x0 --mode 1600x1200 --refresh 60\nxrandr --output DVI-1 --pos 1600x0 --mode 1600x1200 --refresh 60\nxrandr --output DVI-0 --primary

[Screen_0]
OutputsUnified=false
UnifiedRect=0,0,0,0
UnifiedRotation=1

[Screen_0_Output_DVI-0]
Active=true
Rect=0,0,1600,1200
RefreshRate=60
Rotation=1

[Screen_0_Output_DVI-1]
Active=true
Rect=1600,0,1600,1200
RefreshRate=60
Rotation=1

[Screen_0_Output_DVI-I_1/digital]
Active=true
Rect=1600,0,1680,1050
RefreshRate=74.8679504394531
Rotation=1

[Screen_0_Output_DVI-I_2/digital]
Active=true
Rect=1600,0,1680,1050
RefreshRate=74.8679504394531
Rotation=1

Renaming it makes no difference.
luebking
Registered Member
Posts
933
Karma
7
I could only imagine that sth. else is triggered, eg. from a /usr/share/config/kdm/* script or a script in ~/.kde/env or ~/.xprofile ~/.xsession or similar.
Unfortunately i've no idea on how to figure *what* causes the change...

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], bcooksley, Bing [Bot], claydoh, Deusdies, Exabot [Bot], garthecho, Google [Bot], Hans, jpwhiting, La Ninje, Majestic-12 [Bot], Mamarok, MetaNova, MSN [Bot], renatoatilio, rossdv8, Uri_Herrera, Yahoo [Bot], šumski