Reply to topic

[Solved] Shutdown and logout don't work

liochan
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0
Hi,

When I try to use the shutdown/logout/restart buttons in kmenu > shutdown > shutdown/logout nothing happen. Hibernate/lock/Change user buttons work well.

I read some thread from my distro (archlinux) specific forum and try to apply some changes. In /usr/share/config/kdm/kdmrc file I have changed to AllowShutdown=All

The only errors I see is in .xsession-errors

When I try to logout
plasma-desktop(751)/plasma Kickoff::UrlItemLauncher::Private::openUrl: Opening item with URL "leave:/logoutonly"
kwin(717) KWin::Workspace::updateClientArea: screens: 1 desktops: 1
kwin(717) KWin::Workspace::updateClientArea: Done.


When I try to restart
plasma-desktop(751)/plasma Kickoff::UrlItemLauncher::Private::openUrl: Opening item with URL "leave:/restart"
kwin(717) KWin::Workspace::updateClientArea: screens: 1 desktops: 1
kwin(717) KWin::Workspace::updateClientArea: Done.


When I try to shutdown
plasma-desktop(751)/plasma Kickoff::UrlItemLauncher::Private::openUrl: Opening item with URL "leave:/shutdown"
kwin(717) KWin::Workspace::updateClientArea: screens: 1 desktops: 1
kwin(717) KWin::Workspace::updateClientArea: Done.


If you have a solution it's perfect, but where can I have more logs about kde workspace on my system ? I try to tail -f /var/log/kdm.log but nothing is displayed when I click on buttons.

Last edited by liochan on Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
liochan
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0

Re: Shutdown and logout don't work

Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:44 pm
I try a command line and I got this message. Google doesn't help me.
sudo qdbus org.kde.ksmserver /KSMServer logout 0 2 2
Could not connect to D-Bus server: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ExecFailed: /usr/bin/dbus-launch terminated abnormally with the following error: No protocol specified
Autolaunch error: X11 initialization failed.
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
2268
Karma
5
OS

Re: Shutdown and logout don't work

Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:43 am
Can you check whether your polkit or systemd (loginctl) permissions are ok? If you are using systemd, check with "loginctl" whether your user has been assigned a "seat".


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
liochan
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0

Re: Shutdown and logout don't work

Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:07 pm
Here it's the stdout of loginctl.

$ loginctl
SESSION UID USER SEAT
1 1000 ioo seat0

1 sessions listed.


Thanks.
liochan
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0
I marked thread as solved but I don't really know how. So some possibilities after :

First archlinux dbus package have an update so it's a possibility.
I got several issues with kde this days. The problem appear after some kdebase packages updates. After them, the login screen back to default theme without I changed something. When I tried to change the login screen in system settings, I was unable to do it. When I clicked on apply buttons, kde never asks me root password as it has to do, but always display an error message (code 4). I changed manually on /usr/share/config/kdm/kdmrc theme settings.

Thanks for your help einar.
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
2268
Karma
5
OS
So systemd gave you a seat, so that kind of permissions are set. Are you logging directly through a login manager, or from a textual login?


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
liochan
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0
I use kdm to login.
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
2268
Karma
5
OS
Any messages in the system journal (journalctl -b) or in .xsession errors when you try to attempt a shutdown?


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
liochan
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0
I had no error messages in journalctl -b when I tried to shutdown or another button.

The only messages I had, were messages in .xsession-errors. I gave you the whole messages for each buttons I tried and unfortunately they are not very explicit.

When I try to logout
plasma-desktop(751)/plasma Kickoff::UrlItemLauncher::Private::openUrl: Opening item with URL "leave:/logoutonly"
kwin(717) KWin::Workspace::updateClientArea: screens: 1 desktops: 1
kwin(717) KWin::Workspace::updateClientArea: Done.


On another computer I do not really use, I made a distro upgrade. The upgrade was with dbus 1.6.8-6 and kdebase 4.9.5-2 directly. My error was to not provide kde version in this thread. I suppose it was a minor version like 4.9.5 or 4.9.4 as the same for dbus. I haven't this issues on this computer, so I suppose it could be a problem with dbus version and kdebase.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
If you run "qdbus org.kde.ksmserver /KSMServer 0 0 0" does this cause your system to logout?


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
liochan
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0
I try your command and I get this :

As a regular user
[ioo@shikoku ~]$ qdbus org.kde.ksmserver /KSMServer 0 0 0
Method name '0' is not a valid member name.


With sudo
[ioo@shikoku ~]$ sudo qdbus org.kde.ksmserver /KSMServer 0 0 0
Could not connect to D-Bus server: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ExecFailed: /usr/bin/dbus-launch terminated abnormally with the following error: No protocol specified
Autolaunch error: X11 initialization failed.


This is funny because buttons work very well everyday :)
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
Oops, I missed out a part of the command. Try:
Code: Select all
qdbus org.kde.ksmserver /KSMServer org.kde.KSMServerInterface.logout 0 0 0


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
liochan
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0
Yes it works as a regular user.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS
Interesting - but the logout dialog itself gives no response?


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
liochan
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0
I got no dialog box. I typed the command, I heard kde notification sound, firefox stay in windows, I get a dark screen and finaly kdm was displayed.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: alake, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], boudewijn, brandy_000, bshah, cristian.onet, Exabot [Bot], garthecho, Google [Bot], GreatEmerald, Horus, ken300, koriun, Majestic-12 [Bot], mgraesslin, parzt, peje, Tuukka, vomus, Yahoo [Bot]