Reply to topic

Youtube dosen't work in Konqueror

User avatar Primoz
Moderator
Posts
859
Karma
1
OS

Youtube dosen't work in Konqueror

Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:12 pm
Somehow Youtube dosen't work in Konqueror any more even though I clearly remember it working some time ago.
I tried fake identification, it dosen't work...
I checked if I have Netscape plug-ins I do...
So how do I get it to work.
Both versions the 4.2 and 4.2.42 don't work...
But flash does work on my faculty site. So it's even more confusing...

Last edited by Primoz on Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Primoz, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1957
Karma
12
OS
Make sure you have kubuntu-restricted-extras installed.
Plus, try resetting konqui's cache: Settings -> Configure Konqueror -> Cache -> Clear Cache


User avatar Primoz
Moderator
Posts
859
Karma
1
OS

RE: Youtube dosen't work in Konqueror

Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:26 am
LinuxIsInnovation wrote:Make sure you have kubuntu-restricted-extras installed.
Plus, try resetting konqui's cache: Settings -> Configure Konqueror -> Cache -> Clear Cache

I have restricted-extras installed. And I cleared cache but it still dosen't work...
And as I said before sometimes flash works and sometimes dosen't...
In you tube all I get is black screen instead of flash...
This is screenshot of website of my faculty that also uses flash, but it works perfectly:
Image

And this is screenshot of Youtube:
Image


Primoz, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar cybertaz
Registered Member
Posts
34
Karma
0
It is not just kubuntu. I have the same problems with Konq in openSuse 11.


cybertaz, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar Primoz
Moderator
Posts
859
Karma
1
OS
cybertaz wrote:It is not just kubuntu. I have the same problems with Konq in openSuse 11.

Interesting! Seems it's Konqueror bug.
Could someone that uses any other distro than Kubuntu and Suse chack if it works on that distro. Thanks.
I'll probably report it as bug.
I just need more proof that it actually is bug and it's not just due to bad configuration. But since you (cybertaz) has the same problem it seems that it really is a bug.

BTW: LinuxIsInnovation, does your Konqueror play Youtube flash? If it does which version do you use (of Konqui and flash)?

Edit: Just checked the Blip.tv (which was used to upload plasma screencasts) and it works perfectly... It more more seems like that bug is just with Youtube.

Last edited by Primoz on Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Primoz, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
2276
Karma
5
OS
Actually it's not a Konqueror problem, but a Flash problem. The binary blobs only provides hooks (more or less undocumented) for it to work with Firefox, and nothing else. There is no problem if you use a Flash version < 10 IIRC.


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
User avatar Primoz
Moderator
Posts
859
Karma
1
OS
einar wrote:Actually it's not a Konqueror problem, but a Flash problem. The binary blobs only provides hooks (more or less undocumented) for it to work with Firefox, and nothing else. There is no problem if you use a Flash version < 10 IIRC.

The question is how to get a older flash player?
Or even better is there something like Gnash (or Klash) just much better.
The last time I tried Gnash it was really bad.
I downloaded a version 10 from their site, but I guess it won't do the trick.
So any ideas how to get it working.
The site that also doesn't work correctly in Konqueror is Adobe home page.
I guess the problem lies in which flash is used to make a flash in Konqueror.
As I said before that website of my faculty which also uses flash (but probably not the newest) works normally.
Any other flash pages to test?


Primoz, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1957
Karma
12
OS
Try out an older version of flashplugin-nonfree from packages.ubuntu.com
(Although, using an older debian package may break your system, so apt-get install -f might come handy ;))


User avatar Primoz
Moderator
Posts
859
Karma
1
OS
LinuxIsInnovation wrote:Try out an older version of flashplugin-nonfree from packages.ubuntu.com
(Although, using an older debian package may break your system, so apt-get install -f might come handy ;))

I decided to download only a hardy package of Flash not using the whole repo.
But I'm having problems with installing .deb file with aptitude or pat-get...
To prevent any breakage or non-installing I decided to remove my flash.
But now even if I install it back it dosen't work.
But thankfully Flash isn't really that important and I'll survive without it 8for the time being).


Primoz, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar Ignacio Serantes
Registered Member
Posts
448
Karma
1
OS
einar wrote:Actually it's not a Konqueror problem, but a Flash problem. The binary blobs only provides hooks (more or less undocumented) for it to work with Firefox, and nothing else. There is no problem if you use a Flash version < 10 IIRC.


Take the blame you want but there is not a flash problem, is a problem for konqueror.

I do not dispute that what you say is true, probably was true at 99%, but unfortunately reality has another point of view.


Ignacio Serantes, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar Dimitrios
Registered Member
Posts
637
Karma
0
OS
two years now i use konqueror with npplayer for the flash, and i ve never had a crash in youtube. Two years without crash in youtube is great non ?
So i suggest konqueror users to use npplayer for the flash, i love the option click to play of kmplayer that gives me a flashblock too ;)


«The magic continues...»
http://www.mageia.org
Image
User avatar cybertaz
Registered Member
Posts
34
Karma
0
@Primoz:
Do you have 32bit or 64bit OS and flash player? I have 64bit Suse and the 64bit Flash v10 plug-in. The Flash works great in Firefox and Opera, but just blanks in Konq. Maybe we can narrow down to 32bit v 64bit.

@einar:
The Flash plug-in works great in Opera and Firefox, so it is not the flash plug-in 100%. I think that Kong has a part in the failure.


cybertaz, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar Primoz
Moderator
Posts
859
Karma
1
OS
cybertaz wrote:@Primoz:
Do you have 32bit or 64bit OS and flash player? I have 64bit Suse and the 64bit Flash v10 plug-in. The Flash works great in Firefox and Opera, but just blanks in Konq. Maybe we can narrow down to 32bit v 64bit.

@einar:
The Flash plug-in works great in Opera and Firefox, so it is not the flash plug-in 100%. I think that Kong has a part in the failure.

I have 32bit OS and Flash. So it's not 64 based problem...

@Dimitrios: I'll check the npplayer to see if it works.
---
I've installed the Flash from Adobe (not the Ubuntu) and now it at least works in Firefox again, opposed to before when I managed to broke it for Firefox too.
I'll try also to install fireworks from Adobe site. Maybe that's the problem.
I know that since I installed Adobe Flash the Konqueror gives error: no Shockwave...
Or something similar...
I'll explore that and report.
But I'm almost sure it's more the problem of Konqueror and Youtube as Flash (a least at me) worked nicely on other sites just on YouTube it didn't work.
So I guess it was that but I can't really say.

Last edited by Primoz on Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Primoz, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar Alec
Registered Member
Posts
565
Karma
1
OS
Dimitrios wrote:two years now i use konqueror with npplayer for the flash, and i ve never had a crash in youtube. Two years without crash in youtube is great non ?
So i suggest konqueror users to use npplayer for the flash, i love the option click to play of kmplayer that gives me a flashblock too ;)


Thanks! I remember reading about some time ago, but then I forgot all about it.

Now I installed KMPlayer, set the npp to play flash, and now I can finally stop launching Firefox every time I want to watch a flash video.


Get problems solved faster - get reply notifications through Jabber!
User avatar Primoz
Moderator
Posts
859
Karma
1
OS
Interestingly enough Kubuntu dosen't have npplayer in repos. How is that possible (this is obviously rhetorical question)
So no solution for me... :(


Primoz, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Artmessiah, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Buddlespit, Exabot [Bot], garthecho, Google [Bot], Hans, koriun, La Ninje, valoriez, whatthefunk, Yahoo [Bot]