Reply to topic

Virtuoso

User avatar Spiros
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
1
OS

Virtuoso

Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:34 am
I'm building from svn and I'd like to take a look of the new semantic desktop technologies. I followed this Sebastian Trueg's post: I installed Virtuoso (compiled with --disable-all-vads); I rebuilt libiodbc; I rebuilt soprano and kdelibs, too. But Nepomuk is not working. At the startup I become this message:
Nepomuk Semantic Desktop needs the Virtuoso RDF server to store its data. Installing the Virtuoso Soprano plugin is mandatory for using Nepomuk.


The following is the output of cmake when compiling soprano:
Code: Select all
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- Soprano Components that will be built:
   * Redland storage backend
   * Virtuoso storage backend (Run-time dependancy: Virtuoso)
   * Raptor RDF parser
     (including TriG parser)
   * Raptor RDF serializer
   * The CLucene-based full-text search index library
   * D-Bus server/client support

-- Soprano Components that will NOT be built:
   * Sesame2 storage backend (java-based)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:04 pm
Where is KDE installed and where is the Virtuoso components installed? You may need to set KDEDIR and KDEDIRS and run "kbuildsycoca4 --noincremental"


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
User avatar Spiros
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
1
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:08 pm
KDE is compiled from svn trunk and is installed in /opt/kde, while Virtuoso in installed in /usr/local.
In facts I see that KDEDIR and KDEDIRS are not set. I can't do it now; tomorrow i will set them and try again...
Thanks.

EDIT: now KDEDIR and KDEDIRS are set (both are /opt/kde), I ran "kbuildsycoca4 --noincremental" and I restarted my system. But Nepomuk is still not working. :((
neoclust
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:53 am
if you start nepomukserver in konsole what does it tell ?
User avatar Spiros
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
1
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:19 am
It says that the server is already started.
But when I log in, I also become an error message from akonady, which says that Nepomuk is not running...
:?
neoclust
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:23 am
maybe it have badly started, try killing all instances of virtuoso and nepomukserver and then try to restart nepomukserver in konsole
User avatar Spiros
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
1
OS

Re: Virtuoso  Topic is solved

Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:38 pm
neoclust wrote:maybe it have badly started, try killing all instances of virtuoso and nepomukserver and then try to restart nepomukserver in konsole


This is the result of the restart:
Code: Select all
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::Server::enableNepomuk: enableNepomuk true
NepomukServer(5772)/kdecore (KSycoca) KSycocaPrivate::openDatabase: Trying to open ksycoca from  "/var/tmp/kdecache-spiros/ksycoca4"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: "nepomukontologyloader"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: Queueing "nepomukontologyloader" due to dependency "nepomukstorage"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: "nepomukstorage"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceController::start: Starting "nepomukstorage"
Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: "nepomukmigration1"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: Queueing "nepomukmigration1" due to dependency "nepomukstorage"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: "nepomukqueryservice"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: Queueing "nepomukqueryservice" due to dependency "nepomukstorage"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: "nepomukstorage"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: "nepomukremovablestorageservice"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: Queueing "nepomukremovablestorageservice" due to dependency "nepomukstorage"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: "nepomukstrigiservice"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: Queueing "nepomukstrigiservice" due to dependency "nepomukstorage"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: "nepomukfilewatch"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceManager::Private::startService: Queueing "nepomukfilewatch" due to dependency "nepomukstorage"
[/opt/kde/bin/nepomukservicestub] nepomukstorage(5774)/kdecore (KSycoca) KSycocaPrivate::openDatabase: Trying to open ksycoca from  "/var/tmp/kdecache-spiros/ksycoca4"
[/opt/kde/bin/nepomukservicestub] virtual bool Soprano::Virtuoso::BackendPlugin::isAvailable() const could not find Virtuoso ODBC driver
[/opt/kde/bin/nepomukservicestub] (Soprano::PluginManager) plugin  "virtuosobackend" is not available.
[/opt/kde/bin/nepomukservicestub] nepomukstorage(5774)/nepomuk (storage service) Nepomuk::Storage::slotNepomukCoreInitialized: Failed to initialize nepomuk core
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceController::slotServiceInitialized: Failed to initialize service "nepomukstorage"
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceController::stop: Stopping "nepomukstorage"
[/opt/kde/bin/nepomukservicestub] nepomukstorage(5774)/nepomuk (storage service) Nepomuk::Core::~Core: Shutting down Nepomuk storage core.
[/opt/kde/bin/nepomukservicestub] nepomukstorage(5774)/nepomuk (storage service) Nepomuk::Repository::~Repository: "main"
[/opt/kde/bin/nepomukservicestub] nepomukstorage(5774)/nepomuk (storage service) Nepomuk::Repository::close: "main"
Application '/opt/kde/bin/nepomukservicestub' exited normally...
NepomukServer(5772)/nepomuk (server) Nepomuk::ServiceController::slotProcessFinished: Service "nepomukstorage" went down


In facts I see that the Virtuoso plugin is not avaible and then the server went down...


EDIT: maybe I got what the problem is. I compiled virtuoso from sources in /usr/local/src/virtuoso-opensource-5.0.12. Now it is not installed in /usr/local, but in /usr/local/virtuoso-opensource. This path is not in PATH nor any other environment variable. So i should either set some environment variable (but I don't know what variable) or install virtuoso elsewhere. Since there is also a directory var (localstatedir), I configured the build process like this:

Code: Select all
./configure --prefix=/usr/local --localstatedir=/var --disable-all-vads


Now I'm building, then I will restart my session and (I hope :| ) enjoy my semantic desktop.


EDIT: strigi is indexing my files! Wow! :)

Last edited by Spiros on Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
neoclust
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:28 pm
do you have build virtuoso with odbc support ?
User avatar Spiros
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
1
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:32 pm
Yes, I did.
The problem is solved. Now I can tag my files, search them and so on.
Thanks.
and
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Fri Dec 25, 2009 7:50 am
Hello,

My question is: how do I use the result of indexing? After indexing has finished I press alt+f2 (KRunner) and enter the name of a file or phrase in the file I am looking for (it is a tex file), but nothing happens. KRunner doesn't suggest anything. The file I am looking for is for sure in subdirectory of strigi index directory. Did I something wrong?

I am new to nepomuk ;) But I was able to get: "Strigi is indexing files" with all that stuff you've described here. I run Kubuntu with KDE 4.4 beta2.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Fri Dec 25, 2009 8:13 am
Make sure the "Nepomuk" runner is enabled in KRunner. If you are using KDE 4.4, you may also wish to check out Dolphin's new search interface.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
and
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Fri Dec 25, 2009 8:50 am
Thanks for reply. I've checked nepomuk plugin is enabled right away, it was enabled already, so it didn't help.

I actually wonder if there is some sort of a "hardcore" way to check everything is really working. I mean that KDE isn't just showing nice messages like "Strigi is indexing files", but actually doing something. Is there any command line commands I can use to check things like: index was built and is available for search?

"If you are using KDE 4.4, you may also wish to check out Dolphin's new search interface." - could you please be more specific about it? I didn't noticed anything new in neither dolphin or its settings.
Kryten2X4B
Registered Member
Posts
911
Karma
4
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Fri Dec 25, 2009 9:43 pm
and wrote:"If you are using KDE 4.4, you may also wish to check out Dolphin's new search interface." - could you please be more specific about it? I didn't noticed anything new in neither dolphin or its settings.


Make sure the search toolbar is in use. Type something in the search-field, and a new search-panel should pop-up underneath the search field.


OpenSUSE 11.4, 64-bit with KDE 4.6.4
Proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
and
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Sat Dec 26, 2009 7:36 am
I see. Thanks, I didn't know that ;)

So I tried to enter my search phrase and dolphin showed me a message in the status bar: "The Nepomuk system is not activated. Unable to answer queries without it." Which is strange, because Nepomik is activated in System Settings. Could anyone please explain why it says that?

EDIT: I've checked "ps aux | grep nepomuk" output:
Code: Select all
~$ ps aux | grep nepomuk
and    1680  0.0  0.6  93300 10720 ?        Sl   09:52   0:00 kdeinit4: nepomukserver [kdeinit]
and    2356  0.0  0.0   4056   664 pts/1    S+   11:07   0:00 tail -f /tmp/nepomuk.stderr
and    2367  0.5  0.5  68380  9176 ?        S    11:08   0:00 kdeinit4: kio_nepomuksearch [kdeinit] nepomuksearch local:/tmp/ksocket-and/klauncherMT1610.slave-socket local:/tmp/ksocket-and/dolphinoq2362.slave-socket
and    2368  0.5  0.5  68384  9172 ?        S    11:08   0:00 kdeinit4: kio_nepomuksearch [kdeinit] nepomuksearch local:/tmp/ksocket-and/klauncherMT1610.slave-socket local:/tmp/ksocket-and/dolphinme2362.slave-socket
and    2370  0.0  0.0   4120   812 pts/2    S+   11:09   0:00 grep nepomuk
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS

Re: Virtuoso

Sat Dec 26, 2009 8:26 am
Try running Dolphin in Konsole and capture the debug output it produces, and post it here.
If you recieve none ( or only a few lines ) run "kdebugdialog" and enable everything.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: alake, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], boudewijn, brandy_000, bshah, cristian.onet, Exabot [Bot], garthecho, Google [Bot], GreatEmerald, Horus, ken300, koriun, Majestic-12 [Bot], mgraesslin, parzt, peje, Tuukka, vomus, Yahoo [Bot]