Reply to topic

Some issue with KDE 4.6

User avatar Kazy
Registered Member
Posts
18
Karma
0
OS

Some issue with KDE 4.6

Tue May 03, 2011 11:25 am
Hi folks, Since upgrade to kde 4.6 I've some issue, First kde logout automatically and it happend when opera is running I think, Second thing is sometimes kde taking too long to boot and consume all of ram approx 6.8 GiB for disk cache.
My computer spec is: AMD athlon 640, 8 GiB DDR3, nvidia 250GTS, Asus crosshair formula with AMD 890FX, 2x 500GiB Raid 1+0.
User avatar Hans
Administrator
Posts
3118
Karma
20
OS

Re: Some issue with KDE 4.6

Tue May 03, 2011 3:06 pm
Are all your packages up to date? I know there was one version of something that caused problems for Arch users.


Problem solved? Please click on "Accept this answer" below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.

Image
10 things you might want to do in KDE | Open menu with Super key | Mouse shortcuts
User avatar Kazy
Registered Member
Posts
18
Karma
0
OS

Re: Some issue with KDE 4.6

Tue May 03, 2011 7:48 pm
Hans wrote:Are all your packages up to date? I know there was one version of something that caused problems for Arch users.


Yes everything
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS

Re: Some issue with KDE 4.6

Wed May 04, 2011 6:11 am
Can you check to see which process(es) are using all your memory? I suspect Nepomuk or Akonadi could be at fault here...


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
User avatar Kazy
Registered Member
Posts
18
Karma
0
OS

Re: Some issue with KDE 4.6

Wed May 04, 2011 7:42 am
bcooksley wrote:Can you check to see which process(es) are using all your memory? I suspect Nepomuk or Akonadi could be at fault here...


This is nothing weird in system monitor and I sure this is not nepomuk's fault but about akonadi what can I do to find out?
User avatar sylvainsjc
Registered Member
Posts
22
Karma
0
OS

Re: Some issue with KDE 4.6

Wed May 04, 2011 7:50 am
Can you give the results of these commands :

Code: Select all
free -m

Code: Select all
top
User avatar toad
Global Moderator
Posts
873
Karma
6
OS

Re: Some issue with KDE 4.6

Wed May 04, 2011 8:22 am
Kazy wrote:Hi folks, Since upgrade to kde 4.6 I've some issue, First kde logout automatically and it happend when opera is running I think
Hm, does that problem persist? If so, I would check error logs and grep for Opera to get something to start hunting down the problem.

Second thing is sometimes kde taking too long to boot and consume all of ram approx 6.8 GiB for disk cache.
KDE does take a long time to come up because of all the libraries involved and it gets worse if your session starts with programmes like FF or Opera & Thunderbird, etc.

<shameless plug>Have you heard of e4rat? http://e4rat.sourceforge.net/ It reduced my boot time (into KDE) by quite some margin which is why I decided to get busy on it (wrote the wiki). For more info https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=115976 </shameless plug>

Back to reality, does RAM hogging persist? If not, nepomuk was just sifting through your stuff indexing everything... Please give us an update :)


Sid
User avatar Kazy
Registered Member
Posts
18
Karma
0
OS

Re: Some issue with KDE 4.6

Wed May 04, 2011 8:28 am
sylvainsjc wrote:Can you give the results of these commands :

Code: Select all
free -m

Code: Select all
top


total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 7999 7836 162 0 216 5955
-/+ buffers/cache: 1664 6334
Swap: 1027 0 1026

----------------------------------------

top - 12:56:47 up 21:53, 5 users, load average: 0.19, 0.28, 0.26
Tasks: 180 total, 1 running, 179 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu(s): 3.5%us, 1.5%sy, 0.2%ni, 94.5%id, 0.3%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
Mem: 8191464k total, 8023216k used, 168248k free, 222284k buffers
Swap: 1052240k total, 860k used, 1051380k free, 6100400k cached

PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
22682 hamed 20 0 735m 40m 28m S 18 0.5 4:41.71 kaffeine-xbu
10789 hamed 20 0 661m 145m 58m S 12 1.8 48:00.02 kwin
10619 root 20 0 166m 69m 22m S 8 0.9 33:13.30 Xorg
10325 hamed 20 0 327m 23m 21m S 6 0.3 15:15.62 pulseaudio
10800 hamed 20 0 1069m 112m 43m S 2 1.4 14:44.78 plasma-desktop
11354 hamed 20 0 586m 50m 24m S 2 0.6 0:11.91 konsole
11803 hamed 20 0 955m 523m 41m S 2 6.5 17:15.89 opera
11945 hamed 20 0 154m 28m 13m S 2 0.4 14:27.98 operapluginwrap
1 root 20 0 12460 792 648 S 0 0.0 0:02.73 init
2 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.01 kthreadd
3 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:01.21 ksoftirqd/0
6 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/0
7 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.13 watchdog/0
8 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/1
10 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:01.01 ksoftirqd/1
12 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.12 watchdog/1
13 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/2
15 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.73 ksoftirqd/2
16 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.12 watchdog/2
17 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/3
19 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.63 ksoftirqd/3
20 root RT 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.12 watchdog/3
21 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 cpuset
22 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 khelper
23 root 0 -20 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 netns
24 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.34 sync_supers
25 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 bdi-default
User avatar Kazy
Registered Member
Posts
18
Karma
0
OS

Re: Some issue with KDE 4.6

Wed May 04, 2011 10:34 am
toad wrote:
Kazy wrote:Hi folks, Since upgrade to kde 4.6 I've some issue, First kde logout automatically and it happend when opera is running I think
Hm, does that problem persist? If so, I would check error logs and grep for Opera to get something to start hunting down the problem.

Second thing is sometimes kde taking too long to boot and consume all of ram approx 6.8 GiB for disk cache.
KDE does take a long time to come up because of all the libraries involved and it gets worse if your session starts with programmes like FF or Opera & Thunderbird, etc.

<shameless plug>Have you heard of e4rat? http://e4rat.sourceforge.net/ It reduced my boot time (into KDE) by quite some margin which is why I decided to get busy on it (wrote the wiki). For more info https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=115976 </shameless plug>

Back to reality, does RAM hogging persist? If not, nepomuk was just sifting through your stuff indexing everything... Please give us an update :)


First time I've install openSuse kde boot normal and disk cache consume ram for just ~500MiB but after a few days those things happend to kde and all I've done is to installing some application that just some of them start on boot like amarok. About nepomuk before I enable it in system configuration those problem exist and about hogging you said I don't what exactly you mean. (Sorry for poor grammar)
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18556
Karma
83
OS

Re: Some issue with KDE 4.6

Thu May 05, 2011 4:19 am
On the times KDE is taking a while to boot, can you use "iotop" to see which applications are accessing the disk? Memory filling with disk caches is normal behaviour of the linux kernel and is expected. It will be automatically released when needed by applications.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: AGB, Azzart, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Bingy, colomar, Exabot [Bot], garthecho, Google [Bot], google01103, GreatEmerald, jensreuterberg, jstaniek, kainz.a, koriun, Kver, La Ninje, lazyit, Majestic-12 [Bot], MSN [Bot], Nuc!eoN, psbot [Picsearch], rulet111, scummos, SecretCode, Tuukka, undoshmulhe, Uri_Herrera, Yahoo [Bot]