Reply to topic

Add new widgets [kde bug report pending]

blue_tiger300
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0
OS
I am a bit lost with the following problem. I want to download new widgets, but the download would fail with the error: could not load file "http://opendesktop.org/ocs/providers.xml" or "connection lost to opendesktop.org".
But I can access the above url (or apps-kde.org) in the browser without a problem.
I have got the same problem when I want to update any Amarok script. The download window takes forever to show results or fails straight away.
is there a rc file somewhere that needs to be configured or is this a known problem ?
Thanks for any hint
Peter

Last edited by blue_tiger300 on Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Kubuntu 12.10 / KDE 4.11 from backports ppa
blue_tiger300
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0
OS

Re: Add new widgets

Fri Jul 29, 2011 3:48 pm
I think I have hit the following bug
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=272771
Unfortunately there is no indication that this bug is fixed in 4.7.
But I curious to see it anyway.
Peter


Kubuntu 12.10 / KDE 4.11 from backports ppa
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18586
Karma
83
OS

Re: Add new widgets

Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:14 am
Does your system need to use a proxy? If so, have you specified the proxy settings in System Settings?


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
blue_tiger300
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0
OS

Re: Add new widgets

Sat Jul 30, 2011 1:34 pm
There is no proxy in my setup. I don't have any problems browsing the internet, all pages are rendered fast.
I really wonder about the root cause for this. I also can't get the supplied comic widget to work. None of the comics would load.
Whereas the firefox "dilbert" addon works like a charm.
Are there any plasma related logfiles that I could check ?
Thanks
peter


Kubuntu 12.10 / KDE 4.11 from backports ppa
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
18586
Karma
83
OS

Re: Add new widgets

Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:07 am
The log file in question will probably be ~/.xsession-errors.


System Settings and Device Actions KCM maintainer
Image
blue_tiger300
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0
OS

Re: Add new widgets

Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:43 pm
I am finally able to isolate the issue.
What I forgot to mention is that I -do- use "privoxy" to enhance privacy while surfing.
Although I have configured it correctly for both firefox and konqueror, it seems there is something broken with konqueror and subsequently in downloading any new widgets.
If I switch the proxy setting to "direct connection to the internet" in systemsettings, konqueror will load the page, the error messages when trying to download widgets are gone.
I get a lot of errors, if konqueror is configured to use privoxy.
I do not experience any browsing issues at the same time with firefox, which remains configured to use privoxy.
Specifying the domains as 'fragile' in 'user.action' for privoxy, makes no difference for konqueror (= still broken).
Edit: 4:50 pm - it seems that this is a bug in kio_http, it has been reported several times, but the developers need additional information on it.
I will mark this topic as 'solved' because there is a bug report pending.
Thanks
peter


Kubuntu 12.10 / KDE 4.11 from backports ppa

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: 16777216, alake, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], garthecho, Google [Bot], GordieGii, Hans, koriun, Majestic-12 [Bot], mmistretta, nezumi, onesandzeros, Yahoo [Bot]