This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Linux Kubuntu 12.10 32bit install not working correctly

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
Imednoc
Registered Member
Hello, I am relatively new to Linux, and I am having some issues. Recently my HDD crashed forcing me to replace it. I have been wanting to switch from Windows to Linux for a long time now, so I tried some distros on my new HDD. I ran into many frustrating problems with all of them, but some of my linux friends encouraged me to try Kubuntu. The last distro I had installed was Mint 14 64bit, and I was told I could just format my / partition and install Kubuntu. After installation, I tried installing the Nvidia drivers, and it gave me an error about broken packages, then I tried installing Firefox, and all of my system resources maxed out for a very long time. Should I have formatted my /home partition as well? I'm not really sure what to do anymore, and I am on the verge of accepting my eternal servitude with Microsoft.
google01103
Manager
do you have anything you need on your /home? you should always have at least a / and a /home partition and probably a /swap (Google there). I'd make / 20gb but it depends on you hd and how much stuff you load (apps, dev packages, de's). I don't think you should need to format /home but if there's nothing of value there it wouldn't hurt,

My suggestion would be to work with one of your Linux friends and install what they use as this will give you some local support. I'd also suggest 64bit instead of a 32bit, as it's really a 64bit world.

It's hard to comment on you issues as you don't provide much info nor the actual error messages

Nvidia - my understanding is that Kubuntu in the install provides the Nouveau drivers and most everything should work graphically, you are best served by updating to the Nvidia proprietary ones, (K)ubuntu provides tutorials for this you should use.