This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

[SOLVED] Compiz work, Kwin Composite don't

Tags: kwin, compositing kwin, compositing kwin, compositing
(comma "," separated)
Newbie_user
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
After upgrade from KDE 4.1.3 to 4.2 beta 2 compositing in Kwin stop working. When I try to enable desktop effects I've got messagebox:
"Failed to activate desktop effects using the given configuration options. Settings will be reverted to their previous values.

Check your X configuration. You may also consider changing advanced options, especially changing the compositing type."
Compiz-fusion works perfectly, so what can be wrong?

Last edited by sayakb on Fri Dec 26, 2008 6:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

RE: Compiz work, Kwin Composite don't

Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:41 am
In System Settings > Desktop; Desktop Effects > Advanced, What is your compositing type? You have the choice between OpenGL and XRender. try changing between them to see if it makes a difference.

There is also a "Disable functionality checks" checkbox there, but I would not recommend using it, you might not be able to login until a configuration file is manually edited if it something 3D related goes wrong.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1973
Karma
12
OS
Also, try executing the following at a terminal and post the error messages (if any):
Code: Select all
kwin --replace &


Newbie_user
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

RE: Compiz work, Kwin Composite don't

Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:08 am
bcooksley wrote:In System Settings > Desktop; Desktop Effects > Advanced, What is your compositing type? You have the choice between OpenGL and XRender. try changing between them to see if it makes a difference.

There is also a "Disable functionality checks" checkbox there, but I would not recommend using it, you might not be able to login until a configuration file is manually edited if it something 3D related goes wrong.


In KDE 4.1.3 I was using OpenGL. In 4.2 there is no difference for me(both doesn't work). Also "Disable functionality checks" doesn't help. I'm still not able to enable Desktop effects.

LinuxIsInnovation wrote:Also, try executing the following at a terminal and post the error messages (if any):
Code: Select all
kwin --replace &



Result of kwin --replace:

Code: Select all
Object::connect: No such signal OrgKdeKephalConfigurationsInterface::statusChanged()
kwin(25402) KWin::Extensions::init: Extensions: shape: 0x "11"  composite: 0x "4"  render: 0x "a"  fixes: 0x "40"
kwin(25402) KWin::CompositingPrefs::detect: glx version is  1 . 3                                               
kwin(25402) KWin::CompositingPrefs::detectDriverAndVersion: GL vendor is "NVIDIA Corporation"                   
kwin(25402) KWin::CompositingPrefs::detectDriverAndVersion: GL renderer is "GeForce 8600M GT/PCI/SSE2"           
kwin(25402) KWin::CompositingPrefs::detectDriverAndVersion: GL version is "2.1.2 NVIDIA 177.82"                 
kwin(25402) KWin::CompositingPrefs::detectDriverAndVersion: XGL: no                                             
kwin(25402) KWin::CompositingPrefs::detectDriverAndVersion: Detected driver "nvidia" , version "177.82"         
kwin(25402) KWin::CompositingPrefs::applyDriverSpecificOptions: nvidia >= 173.14.12, enabling compositing       
kwin(25402) KDecorationPlugins::loadPlugin: kwin : path  "/usr/lib/kde4/kwin3_ozone.so"  for  "kwin3_ozone"     
kwin(25402) KWin::Extensions::init: Extensions: shape: 0x "11"  composite: 0x "4"  render: 0x "a"  fixes: 0x "40"
kwin(25402) KWin::Extensions::init: Extensions: shape: 0x "11"  composite: 0x "4"  render: 0x "a"  fixes: 0x "40"
kwin(25402) KWin::Workspace::setupCompositing: No compositing                                                   
kwin(25402) KWin::Client::readUserTimeMapTimestamp: User timestamp, initial: 26062337                           
kwin(25402) KWin::Client::readUserTimeMapTimestamp: User timestamp, ASN: 26062337                               
kwin(25402) KWin::Client::readUserTimeMapTimestamp: User timestamp, final: 'ID: 27262988 ;WMCLASS: "plasma" : "plasma" ;Caption: "Qt-subapplication" ' : 26062337                                                                       
kwin(25402) KWin::Workspace::allowClientActivation: Activation: No client active, allowing                         
kwin(25402) KWin::Workspace::updateClientArea: screens:  1 desktops:  4


Unfortunately I don't understand anything except QObject::connect.
User avatar
sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1973
Karma
12
OS

RE: Compiz work, Kwin Composite don't

Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:19 pm
Well, that error shouldn't prevent KWin from running. What distro are you running?


Newbie_user
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
LinuxIsInnovation wrote:Well, that error shouldn't prevent KWin from running. What distro are you running?

Archlinux with KDEmod. Tonight I'm going to compile KDE 4.2 and try to run KWin&composite in "vanilia" KDE.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Code: Select all
 kwin(25402) KWin::CompositingPrefs::applyDriverSpecificOptions: nvidia >= 173.14.12, enabling compositing       
 kwin(25402) KWin::Workspace::setupCompositing: No compositing                                                   


These two messages do not make sense. First it says "enabling compositing" then when it sets up compositing it says "No compositing". Almost sounds like a bug especially since it is not obeying the "disable functionality checks"


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
Zarin
KDE Developer
Posts
345
Karma
8
OS
Code: Select all
 kwin(25402) KWin::CompositingPrefs::applyDriverSpecificOptions: nvidia >= 173.14.12, enabling compositing       
 kwin(25402) KWin::Workspace::setupCompositing: No compositing                                                   


That second line says to me that you have somehow managed to not set which rendering mode to use or you have not compiled in OpenGL support at build-time. Please go into the advanced desktop effects settings and select "OpenGL" from the first combo box then hit the apply button (If it doesn't allow you to change something then change it back).

If that doesn't work run `KWIN_COMPOSE=O kwin --replace &` from the terminal.

If neither of those work then it's definitely not been compiled in (But that doesn't make sense as it wouldn't allow you to enable effects if it's not available).

Last edited by Zarin on Wed Dec 24, 2008 2:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Newbie_user
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

RE: Compiz work, Kwin Composite don't

Fri Dec 26, 2008 12:00 am
Zarin wrote:If that doesn't work run `KWIN_COMPOSE=O kwin --replace &` from the terminal.

It's work now, thanks!
User avatar
Zarin
KDE Developer
Posts
345
Karma
8
OS
Very old thread but we found out a few weeks ago that the "KWIN_COMPOSE=O" is needed only when you are running in "fail safe" mode. The obvious and correct way to fix the problem is to not enter fail safe mode at all! You can enter normal mode from one of the settings in KDM/GDM/whatever.

Last edited by Zarin on Tue Jun 23, 2009 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot]