This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

what about plugins

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
Alvaro Moran
Registered Member

what about plugins

Sat Oct 30, 2004 5:29 pm
Ok, I know that maybe this does not sounds new but... what about providing a way to develop plugins? I mean, I'm not a developer, but I think that the xmms way (and the Winamp way, if you like) of supporting stuff by developing and letting people to develop plugins is great. What do you think about?

Post edited by: dirac3000, at: 2004/10/30 19:30
Max Howell
Alumni

Re:what about plugins

Sat Oct 30, 2004 9:10 pm
We want plugins, and will implement an API soon hopefully.
Alvaro Moran
Registered Member

Sat Oct 30, 2004 11:27 pm
Great!I'm sure when this part will be ready the development will be a lot bigger (and maybe easier)...
markey
KDE Developer
OS

Sun Oct 31, 2004 12:29 am
What kind of plugin would you like to see? Please list some examples, so we can consider what API needs to be crafted.

--
Mark Kretschmann - Amarok Developer
lima1

Mon Nov 01, 2004 1:54 am
- some normalizing stuff (control volume by loudest moment in mp3, not some percent thing)
- goodnight plugin (turn off pc in x minutes)
gomez

Mon Nov 01, 2004 2:58 am
-A track renamer.

How about looking at the foobar2000 API? It's apparently pretty good, and has numerous useful plugins developed for it.
Alvaro Moran
Registered Member

Mon Nov 01, 2004 7:05 pm
well, I'd like to have the possibility to cutomize the most of the amarok is possible to do. There are really a lot that can be achieved with pulgins!
For instance I'd like to select which audio-server I wold like to use for output (alsa, arts, or whatever), or maybe I would like to redirect my amarok output to an IceCast server, so all the people in the lan can listen to what I'm listening.