This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Context Information on webpage

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
cjp

Context Information on webpage

Sat Nov 06, 2004 9:48 pm
I just had a random idea.

I was thinking that it'd be pretty cool to post the information from Amarok's context playlist panel on my blog, kinda like I've seen others do with Winamp/XMMS.

Does anyone know if this has been done before? If not, can you give me some information on any files I could look at parsing (ideally with PHP or Perl) with a view to creating a format to post to my website. I could set up a shell script to do this regularly.

I believe Amarok keeps it's playlist information in a database? If so, what kind is it? Where is it? What tools could I use to read it?

Cheers for any help, I've never tried anything like this before but it'd be pretty cool if I could get it to work.
eean
KDE Developer
OS

Re:Context Information on webpage

Sun Nov 07, 2004 11:40 pm
For simple things, you can use dcop. Using the program kdcop is a good way to familiarize yourself with how dcop works.

I think amaroK uses a sqlite database. I don't know how useful the database is for the kind of things you want to do, I don't think it keeps stuff like your current playlist in it, though I could be wrong.

Amarok Developer
eean
KDE Developer
OS

nope

Sun Nov 07, 2004 11:55 pm
There is a file at .kde/share/apps/amarok/current.xml that contains the playlist from the last time amaroK closed cleanly. Which I guess isn't that useful. The actually current playlist is probably kept totally in memory. Maybe a dcop call to save the current playlist would be useful.

I installed sqlite3 and confirmed that indeed that database wouldn't be useful for the current playlist. You could extract your favorite tracks from it.
$ sqlite3 /tmp/collection.db .dump > /tmp/col.out
$ grep CREATE /tmp/col.out
CREATE TABLE directories (dir VARCHAR(100) UNIQUE,changedate INTEGER );