This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

using amarok as an alarm clock

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
hendrik
Karma
0

using amarok as an alarm clock

Tue Nov 09, 2004 1:51 pm
I posted the following on my webpage at http://www.grahli.net/linux.php, some people might find this interesting:

Here a little trick for amarok to get you out of bed in a nicer way: (I'm probably not the only one who's machine is on all night..)
I was getting tired of my alarm clock and so I made a cron job for my user account calling a script in the morning:
#crontab -e
00 09 * * * /home/USER/scripts/wakeup
Next comes the script itself, here I give amarok the dcop play command so it will start with the last selected song (don't forget to select this song in the evening or it won't work properly):
#!/bin/sh
export DISPLAY=:0.0
/usr/kde/3.3/bin/dcop amarok player play

Display is necessary for dcop to attach...at least on my system.
Have fun!
jmiahman
Karma
0

Re:using amarok as an alarm clock

Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:22 am
Thank you for that, but it sure would be really nice if someone would write a plugin *wink* hint hint anyone?
jmiahman
Karma
0

For Mandrake

Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:32 am
Script for Mandrake or Other distros w/ Dcop in /usr/bin
user "whereis dcop" in konsole to find your location.
<------------------- Scrpit Begin Copy
#!/bin/sh
export DISPLAY=:0.0
/usr/bin/dcop amarok player play
>-------------------- Script End Copy
asktoby
Registered Member
Posts
23
Karma
0

Re: using amarok as an alarm clock

Mon Nov 05, 2007 7:11 pm
On my system (running compiz and dual-head) I get the error:
ERROR: Couldn't attach to DCOP server!
This is caused by my screen being somewhere other than 0.0
I ran glxinfo and the first line reads:
name of display: :1.0
I changed 0.0 to 1.0 in the script and it works for me now.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]