This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Feature request : Various things

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
fred

Feature request : Various things

Thu Jan 13, 2005 6:50 pm
I am no expert in this app, but I do know that it is very good.

I have a few features that could be considered (although I guess that they may already be implemented, but I have not found out how to do them!)

1. Use an Album Cover browser to select the album you want to play. This one in for my wife who prefers pictures to words. ie. look at all the nice album covers, click one to play it.

2. Transcoding of audio formats. For example, I encode my CD\'s in FLAC but may want to convert them to OGG or MP3 (to dump onto a portable player). To integrate the transcoding of formats and then have an easy method (within amarok) to dump them to a USB device would be handy. (This would mean that it did not matter what format your stored music was in, as amarok would always convert the files to that supported by your portable player)

A couple of questions also.....

Any idea how I can change the genre of all the songs within an album, without having to edit each song individually ?

What engine offers the best sound quality - is there any difference ?

Well done to all those involved in this project

Thanks
mortiferus
Registered Member

Re:Feature request : Various things

Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:41 pm
I like both of your ideas.
About the second, It could be both a compile time option witch converters the compiler wants to support (flac, lame, ogg). Or you could make it a config option, where the user can later enter the file path to the executable, and maybe some options. And there could be some presets for the opttion, so user could chose easy between 128kbit and f.eks --alt-preset standard in lame without knowing the command options. Offcourse with sane default so it just works for those who dont want to edit anything (that would be --alt-preset standard:P )