This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

CPU utilization 100%

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
adamk

CPU utilization 100%

Sat Dec 03, 2005 6:13 am
Hello,

This is my first day using Amarok, and let me just say I am VERY impressed. I am new to Linux in general and am using Linspire 5.0 on an Athlon 3000+ system. The problem that I am having however is that Amarok seems to peg the processor at 100% nearly all of the time. When it starts up the CPU is at idle until I start playing anything. And then no matter what I do, stop the music, skip tracks, etc. it will stay at 100%.

Amarok is using the Xine engine by default on my system. I installed the GStreamer engine also, and the same thing occurs. None of the last.fm stuff is on. \"Watch folders for changes\" doesn\'t seem to do anything (infact checking and unchecking this option does not even ungrey the Apply button, so I am not sure if it works anyway). Minimize/Maximize doesn\'t seem to help, nor does turning off the Analyzer/menu bar.

Amarok is running the background while I typed this and I just noticed something. The CPU load will sometimes go down to idle after about 3 minutes of uninterupted play of the current song. As soon as a new song comes on the CPU pegs again. Any ideas?

Thanks!
markey
KDE Developer
OS

Re:CPU utilization 100%

Sat Dec 03, 2005 8:43 am
Try starting it from the shell, by calling \"amarokapp\", and see if it prints any unusual debug output, like something looping forever.

If you don\'t see any debug output (amaroK normally prints **** of it), you may have to enable it using the \"kdebugdialog\" tool.

--
Mark Kretschmann - Amarok Developer
dangle_wtf

Sat Dec 03, 2005 1:43 pm
Out of curiosity, are you using KDE with kompmgr (translucency) enabled?