This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Help Setting up Iaudio X5

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
dfcm2003
Registered Member

Help Setting up Iaudio X5

Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:20 pm
Hi all,

Im very new to linux, and newer to amarok, But I like it :-)

I have a IAudio X5 player, Amarok will not auto detect the device, so I am assuming I need to set it up myself. problem is that I dont know how. I have the latest version 1.4.2 on my ubuntu box.

I seen there was a usb script on a kde.org site, that I bookmarked that is used for usb media devices, so I need this?

Is someone would be kind enough to explain the process in detail to me how to set this up, that would be great.

Also I do know that device, is reconized by ubuntu, and is located at  /media/Iaudio

Also I noticed when I do a manual setup on amarok its asking for stuff I have no idea about. I select generic device, and its asking for post commands and pre commands, nods, etc... I have not Idea what I need to put on this.

thanks for your time and help
Daryl
Jarsto
Registered Member
OS

Re: Help Setting up Iaudio X5

Fri Sep 01, 2006 6:00 am
If your X5 is like my G3 you shouldn't need the script (I think that was deprecated when generic support was added to Amarok). Just add a "Generic Media Device", set a name of your choice and the right mount point. Then click the configure button next to the new device and add the mount and unmount commands for pre- and post-connect. You should be up and running.

Jarsto

"There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are."
W. Somerset Maugham
dfcm2003
Registered Member

Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:04 pm
Thanks for the reply,

But as I stated in the orginal post, Im new to linux, so I dont know what to put in the commands. :-) sorry.

I do know that the Iaudio X5 shows up as  /media/iaudio when its plugged in.

if you could give me an example then I can add it.

Thanks again for your time and help.