This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

why amarok 2.0.1. is not ready (yet) but is promising

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
kmd
Registered Member
hello,

before all, please don't take this personal or get angry. i have been using amarok for many years and i'd like to give my '2 cents' or opinion about the amarok 2 release.  i'm not a coder and i know how complex and time-consuming software creation can be. unfortunately i agree with many arguments of quite a few amarok users who have been ventilating their frustration about A2 here. i'm running a kubuntu build on (gnome) ubuntu 8.10. my first impression was quite disappointing. a lot had to do with the (in my view) ugly default kde4 settings. also, it took a while to get used to the new layout and in combination with the 'ugly' kde4 settings my initial (!) feelings/impressions were quite negative. biggest drawback in my view, and after a few days of using, is the feeling that i can do less or handle my collection in a much less convenient way than i was used to with the 1.4 series.  A2 does not display useful, even crucial information, like bitrates and more. sorting seems difficult. i also encounter the collection problems that have been mentioned here numerously. especially "various artists" audio files are not handled as we knew with amarok 1.4 and A2 does not handle well the feature. ex., i see many album entries when i try putting together different tracks of the same album with the 'various artists' feature and A2 crashes a lot while doing that. in short, my collection seems **** up (and i have already spent many hours to clean and tag my collection correctly, etc.). the big collection issue and overall impression of degraded usability or 'convenience' is why i think that A2 was maybe released a bit too early. no offense.

so far the bad news ;)