This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Goodbye Amarok 2 (at least for now)!

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
darkscot
Registered Member
OS
I have been persevering with Amarok 2 for several months and been quite patient as it has slowly been taking shape.  However, I have just upgraded from KDE4.1 to KDE4.2 and Amarok simply no longer works.  I have tried for about two days to sort it out but to no avail.  So it is goodbye 2.0, welcome back 1.4.  I have to say having reloaded 1.4 it has made me realise just what long way V2 has to go.  I will give version 2 another go in the future, but not for a while.

"We don't have a monopoly. We have market share. There's a difference." STEVE BALLMER
hemna
Registered Member
I have given  up on Amarok2 as well.  The interface is just way too buggy and makes no sense.  The playlists constantly complain when I remove a song, I can't sort by my star rating and creating a new playlist based on star rating, just isn't there.  The middle pane is a huge waste of real estate. The lyrics section never fills the entire middle panel.  It just stops and you can't resize it.  I honestly don't know what the devs were thinking.  The 1.x interface is a lot easier to use and makes more sense.  I just nuked amarok2 and went back to 1.x.  Oh well, good luck with amarok2 guys.  I'll check back in 6 months.
markey
KDE Developer
OS
We're sorry to hear that, but at the same time not _too_ sorry ;)

You cannot be all things to everyone, that's just a fact. I personally enjoy Amarok 2 greatly (especially the upcoming 2.1 version), and I'm very proud of it. But I can fully understand that some people would dislike it, for one reason or another.

Thanks for the effort, and come back sometime :)

--
Mark Kretschmann - Amarok Developer
harold
Registered Member
Why didn't you just make an amarok 1.5 and everything would have been fine ...

There are four main points that bother me in version 2: