This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Mac: Cannot Create Collection -- Any Way Around This?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
HalNineThousand
Registered Member
I've been using Linux since before 2000, but I've hit burnout after running my own business based on my own software.  I need time to focus on my more creative pursuits and just need to spend less time doing program and admin work, so I've switched to a Mac.

I've installed the Amarok binary on my iMac and, as I expected and as is stated, in the current version you cannot create a music collection on the Mac.

Is there a way around this?  How can I import my collection from my old Linux box?  (I'd have to change the path to the collection, but otherwise, it's the same, since it's on an NFS volume.)

And once I get a collection created, will I be able to rescan it or will it pick up new files automatically like it does on Linux?

Thanks for any help on this!
dangle_wtf
Who says you can't create a collection on OS X? I'm re-building mine as I type this (intel macbook).

My music is also on NFS shares, and it's working fine. Please make sure you're using the latest OS X version available, currently 2.0, available here: http://amarok.kde.org/wiki/Download:Mac ... nt_version

Note that while it says 'beta', this is only because the OS X packages are not considered as a 'final' release. The actual version equivalent is 2.0.0.

If there are particular issues you're running into, please post a bit more info!

"There are two theories to arguing with women. Neither one works."
If men could get pregnant, we'd learn the true meaning of "screaming nancyboy wuss"
HalNineThousand
Registered Member
That's the version I have.  When I first ran it, several days ago (in other words, I don't remember exactly what happened, but do remember the problem I had), I tried a number of times to have it build a collection, but it would not.