This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

CDs inserted show up everywhere but on Amarok

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
alvareo
Registered Member
Hi,

I'm new to Linux, so please, easy with me. :)

I insterted a CD into my computer's drive. It showed up on Rhythmbox, Nautilus, Sound Juicer... But not on Amarok.

I'm on Ubuntu Ibex. Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Mamarok
Manager
OS
Which version of Amarok are you using? Playing from CD should work in the 1.4.x series, but is not implemented in the 2.0 series yet.

Running Kubuntu 22.10 with Plasma 5.26.3, Frameworks 5.100.0, Qt 5.15.6, kernel 5.19.0-23 on Ryzen 5 4600H, AMD Renoir, X11
FWIW: it's always useful to state the exact Plasma version (+ distribution) when asking questions, makes it easier to help ...
alvareo
Registered Member
dangle_wtf
You can tell for sure by going to Help -> About Amarok

"There are two theories to arguing with women. Neither one works."
If men could get pregnant, we'd learn the true meaning of "screaming nancyboy wuss"
alvareo
Registered Member
I checked, I have 1.4.x. Can't recall the last number.
markey
KDE Developer
OS
alvareo wrote:I'm new to Linux, so please, easy with me. :)

I insterted a CD into my computer's drive. It showed up on Rhythmbox, Nautilus, Sound Juicer... But not on Amarok.

I'm on Ubuntu Ibex. Any suggestions?

With Amarok 1.x, go to the main menu, then "Engage" -> "Play Audio CD". (as far as I can remember...)

--
Mark Kretschmann - Amarok Developer
alvareo
Registered Member
Problem solved. Thank you.

Although I still can't do what I wanted to do: import CDs. But well, that isn't a bug, it's just a missing feature. Cheers!
dangle_wtf
If you're using KDE, you can browse to audiocd:/ in the files browser, then drag the tracks to your collection, if memory serves me correctly. If you're not using KDE I have no idea if this works.

If men could get pregnant, we'd learn the true meaning of "screaming nancyboy wuss"
alvareo