This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

AMAROK should not change file extensions!!! [v. 2.0.1]

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
Kromitvs
Registered Member
Hy

I used the organize option in my music collection and deleted all extensions. I must now mannually added them again (since my Linux knowledge is very weak).

Anyway, Amarok does not recognize music files without the extension. And Amarok is a music program, not a file editor. The user should not have the option to change the file extension in Amarok since it has no use for it!
In fact, I think this should be reported as a bug. I won't do it because I'm a newbie and there may be a sound explanation for what I see as dangerous/no use option!

(And Amarok is my favorite music player, by the way!)

Last edited by Kromitvs on Sat Sep 05, 2009 12:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Dieter Schroeder
Registered Member
OS
Woot???
Which version of Amarok are you using?
This is a must and should be in the subject or at least in your post.
Can you explain what you have done.
In the subject Amarok changed and in your post it removed the extension. So what is correct?
It's correct, that amarok doesn't recognize, files without extension.
If you load them, amarok plays them, but shows no metainformation (which is a bug, indeed)

m0nk

If men could get pregnant, abortion would be a sacrament.
Kromitvs
Registered Member
Hy!

Thanks for the heads up (I just edited the subject).
Amarok allows the user to chenge the extension of a file, in my case, I ended up deleting. To do just that I right clicked on any file from my collection and selected "organized files" then I selected the way I would like files to be organize (e.g., genre/algum/track).

I did not realize the extension was editable too, so I did not added it at the end. It took me some time to understand why Amarok stopped loading my files. They had lost their extensions.