This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Understanding the Amarok file system

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
fruitcakes
Registered Member
OS
I am a raw beginner to Ubuntu. I have tried it several times over the years, but always came away scratching my head. I've now got Ubuntu running in a VMware player on Windows 7. I've listen to a lot of podcasts and usually just download them and then copy and paste them into my Sandisk mp3 player. I've got Amarok up and running, downloading and playing, but I can't find where Amarok is saving the files! Putting them in the "Music" folder would seem like the logical place. Where are they saved? ???
Mamarok
Manager
OS
The database is stored in $HOME/.kde/share/apps/amarok, so are the saved podcasts and playlists, the settings are in $HOME/.kde/share/config/, the configuration files all start with amarok* and are text files.

Amarok doesn't put anything in the Music folder, since that is a user folder, and the applications do not write application specific settings in a user folder in Linux. That is not specific to Amarok, but how KDE on Linux is organised.

Running Kubuntu 22.10 with Plasma 5.26.3, Frameworks 5.100.0, Qt 5.15.6, kernel 5.19.0-23 on Ryzen 5 4600H, AMD Renoir, X11
FWIW: it's always useful to state the exact Plasma version (+ distribution) when asking questions, makes it easier to help ...
Lukas
Registered Member
Hmm, whats the point of System Settings > Account details > Paths > Music path ?

I really appreciate that it doesn't fill entire My documents folder with unwanted data (as it was in windows era), but having Music path setting, well it makes sense to save podcasts there :)
Mamarok
Manager
OS
It doesn't, since most people don't want their saved podcasts to show up in the collection, and podcasts are very often only saved temporarily.

Running Kubuntu 22.10 with Plasma 5.26.3, Frameworks 5.100.0, Qt 5.15.6, kernel 5.19.0-23 on Ryzen 5 4600H, AMD Renoir, X11