This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Debugging amarok

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
ygardi
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0

Debugging amarok

Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:58 pm
Hi all ,
I want to contribute to amarok .I've compiled it from source using QtCreator.
I am trying to use debugging functions for console output .After building, when i try to run amarok from terminal by typing amarok --debug , it gives output as usual.It does not show the debug messages.
Can anyone help me with this?
Thanks.
User avatar
Mamarok
Manager
Posts
6071
Karma
16
OS

Re: Debugging amarok

Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:48 pm
Please read the documentation linked from http://community.kde.org/Amarok/Development/Join, all you need to know is there. In particular, you need to build amarok with debug enabled.

Moving this to Amarok development, as it doesn't belong in the user support section.


Running Kubuntu 22.10 with Plasma 5.26.3, Frameworks 5.100.0, Qt 5.15.6, kernel 5.19.0-23 on Ryzen 5 4600H, AMD Renoir, X11
FWIW: it's always useful to state the exact Plasma version (+ distribution) when asking questions, makes it easier to help ...
ygardi
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0

Re: Debugging amarok

Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:33 pm
Thanks for replying. I have read documentation linked from http://community.kde.org/Amarok/Development/Join and have built with line cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=$HOME/kde -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=debugfull $HOME/kde/src/amarok . While fixing bugs in a new git branch , changes made to code are not reflected in amarok.
The debug messages which i added are not shown on console and even commenting out a function does nothing. Amarok runs as usual neglecting any changes.
I am working on https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=305554 . After making changes(adding some messages, commenting out some lines and recompiling ) , when i run amarok -d --nofork , it gives the same output as before making any changes and amarok works as there were no changes.
Please help me .
User avatar
Mamarok
Manager
Posts
6071
Karma
16
OS

Re: Debugging amarok

Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:29 am
If you read the documentation you would have seen that you absolutely need to subscribe to the devel mailing list and then discuss your changes there before you start your work. Also all patches need to be submitted to reviewboard, the link is also in those documents.

If you test changes in your git branch you must make sure you actually build that branch and not the master one. And, of course, you need to remove any distribution packages for amarok beforehand.


Running Kubuntu 22.10 with Plasma 5.26.3, Frameworks 5.100.0, Qt 5.15.6, kernel 5.19.0-23 on Ryzen 5 4600H, AMD Renoir, X11
FWIW: it's always useful to state the exact Plasma version (+ distribution) when asking questions, makes it easier to help ...
ygardi
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0

Re: Debugging amarok

Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:20 am
I am building the test branch and removed the distribution packages for amarok.
I am doing the following steps-
git checkout -b feature_branch master
< some changes>
< commit changes>
run project from qt creator.

It is still not working.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Evergrowing, Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot]