This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Qt Script Question/ Read from File

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
jseabold
Registered Member

Qt Script Question/ Read from File

Tue Feb 03, 2009 3:37 am
Hello all,

I am new to Qt Script, though I am pretty familiar with Javascript and C++ though it's been a while.  (Personal note: I miss Python!).

I am trying to write a script for my own use that keeps track of a recently played list, which will update to my webpage (everything else will be implemented in Python once the playlist is in a text file).  I need my script to be able to read from a file and am having trouble reading a file into an array.  Here is what I have so far.

Code: Select all
Importer.loadQtBinding("qt.core");
f = new QFile( "~/playlist" );
f.open(new QIODevice.OpenMode(QIODevice.ReadWrite));
var recent = new Array(50);
var line = new QTextStream(f);
i=0;
while (!f.atEnd())
{
recent[i]=line.readLine()
if (f.atEnd())
{
break;
}
else
{
i++
}
}

I can implement it another way and get my entire playlist into the array, but I am getting hung up with the f.atEnd() implementation.  It only reads the first line into the array then breaks the loop.  Why should f.atEnd() return true at the end of the first line?  I am using Linux and created a text file for the program to read from that has a few words on each line.

Side note, why is the scripting documentation still so poor?  I really wish I had the requisite knowledge to post some HowTo's because I feel like I'm having to learn to program all over again just getting the syntax down.  Nothing personal, I just hope the community becomes more accessible.  Everything else about Amarok is great.
markey
KDE Developer
OS
Regarding Python/QtScript: "Everything comes at a price" :)