This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Amarok2 DBus query Collection

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
shoxrocks
Registered Member

Amarok2 DBus query Collection

Wed Feb 11, 2009 6:23 pm
Hey there,

I'm new to Amarok2 development and am trying to adjust a couple of scripts that have been utilizing Amarok1 so far. While I definitely plan to learn QtScript for internal scripts, there are some that query amarok externally, e.g. a recording software. To check if I am recording duplicates, I was  querying the Amarok collection via the DCOP interface. I haven't found any possible solution yet to do this via DBus, as the MPRIS API does not seem to support this and I haven't found anything else during my research. Is there a way to achieve this or do I have to use the Amarok DB directly (and I am happy about any hint how..).

Thanks for you help
Alanceil
Registered Member
OS

Re: Amarok2 DBus query Collection

Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:48 pm
Have a look at qdbus, this command comes with qt4 and behaves similarly to the dcop command.
For example, qdbus org.kde.amarok /TrackList will list track information calls. (You would then use 'qdbus org.kde.amarok /TrackList GetMetadata 2' to get metadata for track 3 in your tracklist)
Ramblurr
Registered Member
OS

Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:12 am
Currently you cannot query the collection database via dbus, however you can query it in scripts.

I suggest opening a wish request at http://bugs.kde.org requesting collection querying via dbus.

Amarok Developer
Ramblurr
Registered Member
OS

Re: Amarok2 DBus query Collection  Topic is solved

Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:23 am
SVN commit 929814 by mkossick:

added a D-Bus interface to query Amarok's collections.
It allows the same queries as in the collection browser. No services from the internet browser can be queried yet.