KDE Developer
|
First things first.
If you did not already do it: backup all your data. You should be able to access your partitions as well as backup medium (e.g. external USB hard drive) from within a Kubuntu Live CD/DVD session. Secondly, while you are waiting for all the data to replicate onto a saver storage you can ponder whether you really need the existing setup sufficiently to spend a couple more hours on repairing it (could also be a matter of minutes). If not, install Kubuntu 11.04 and restore your settings from the backup (mind that you should under no circumstances copy the old /etc content to the new /etc as this will likely break everything as well ). If you choose the repair option, then we shall have some fun. All of this can be done from a Live session, so you will be able to copy and paste stuff easily in case there is an error. We will achieve this by "chrooting" into the system. Essentially that means that we will change the / of a terminal to actually be /mnt/. Might sound complicated, but that is not the important bit here anyway . So, from a live session:
Remember/copy the path where your old root is located. In my manual mount from above that would be /mnt, if you used dolphin it probably is /media/someotherfancyname Once you have access to your old root, you'll need to prepare for for the chroot process, so we need to mount a couple more things to actually fake a running system. You can simply copy those, but remember to change /mnt/ to where ever your root is mounted.
Now you are ready for chroot access, which you can invoke with:
!!!You are now in your old system!!! - it uses the internet connection of your live session etc. Now you can run valoriez
and show us the output. But you can also try to repair things right away, of course I am guessing blindly what the issue could be, so don't get your hopes up. Without knowing what the actual problem is it is hard to fix it
If this does not output something like
but instead has multiple paragraphs that go like (and similar)
then you should carefully read all of what it says, should it mention at some point that packages would be REMOVED check those packages carefully, if you do not know what a particular package does, then better abort the operation and show us the output. If you know all packages and you know that they are not crucial to the system (like amarok would be such a package ), then accept the operation. Should that not have worked like expected, you can go a more brutal approach. The following commands will wipe all KDE applications, configurations however will be unaffected, so you can simply reinstall them afterwards.
Once done you can try running valoriez' command again. If it works better now, then we are on the right path. Next try to install kubuntu-desktop again, using the command from above. This time it should not mark anything as to be REMOVED. If so, go ahead with installation. If there should appear an issue while installation, then show us the output and try valoriez' command again -> output ... Simply put: the more output you can show us the more likely we will be able to find the issue Additionally it would be good if you could show us the outputs of
and
To get out of the chroot you'll need to revert the mount stuff again: To leave the chroort:
To revert the mounts (remember changing the /mnt/ to whether you have mounted it):
(The sync commands are to instruct the system that it should write pending changes on the hard drive now, so that no data gets lost). Now you should be able to reboot and maybe your system has a GUI again BTW, if you have some time you can also try more real time support via IRC. In your live session there is an entry in the menu "IRC Client" if you lunch that a client will come up and lead you to #kubuntu on the freenode IRC network, usually there is good support there. Also you can find valoriez as valorie and me as apachelogger in #kubuntu
Annoyed with bbcode since 1999.
|
Registered Member
|
Hi apachelogger,
thanks for that excessive reply, is already done. As i said in a former post, it costed my a lot of time getting on that (stable) point with Lucid Lynx, therefore i've chosen the LTS-Version (10.04). Many nights went by repairing the akonadi-trouble, the flashplugin mess, bring kMail to what it is now, installing a virtual Win98-Machine (from a broken elder Laptop with a lot of applications i still use frequently); so i don't want to start at point zero again ;-( By the way: akonadi was setup with an external MySQL-dB which stored about 8.000 title), DigiKam was running fine for thousands of Photos, Apache2 was serving my home-Wiki, CUPS Printserver was running with 4 printers... and so on So, let's have some fun; only windows-users are used to setup their system from zero every few months , i thought meanwhile. I've prepaired a live-Stick (from a Live-Boot-DVD; Natty Narwhal) and am working with it now on the damaged Laptop (where only Windows Vista is usable by Multi-Boot) If you have some time, i'll deliver all the needed information, thanks a lot. [quote="apachelogger"]So, from a live session: Start konsole Mount your old root (i.e. /) partition, you can do this either via the file manager Dolphin or if you actually know the device name you can do manual mounting like
I have to say, that i have a 15GB root-Partition and a 64GB /home-Partition, as listet below
Will soon be back The first results:
So, something's wrong with chroot? What's about the different users? My configuration is stored eg. in the /home/muelux/.kde/share..., now i'm the user 'ubuntu', shouldn't i define a user muelux first? Without that i get errormessages, if i use rekonq now that can't store anything under /home/ubuntu/... which didn't exist under Lucid Lynx? |
Registered Member
|
After executing Valoriez's command-sequence i got the following last errormessages:
Some other relevant messages (i couldn't retrieve the whole log in the terminal):
That's all i can report 'til now.
The Main Problem arised after: * The Kubuntu Lucid Lynx repo has as newest Amarok-Version the V2.3.0 available * against my fears i followed a tip an tried to install the Amarok-Version from a backport repository * I hit (in the oppinion of the mentor) the wrong ppa, so i tried to change it to Lucid Lynx backports and reinstall the new Amarok Version from there * The reinstalling failed (-my Lucid Lynx was still running fine-) and following another tip i tried as a terminal-command
* That implied the whole bunch of changes (22 updates, 153 security update from the backport repository for Lucid Lynx) and from that point on the system wasn't unusable! [/list] |
KDE Developer
|
2 Things: a) you really really really really should not mount your home into the live CD's home, this can break all sorts of things + won't work, because you are still the ubuntu user on the LiveCD, so it will want to use /home/ubuntu which is exactly why rekonq fell over. The point of a chroot is that you swap your / to another mounted partition, which allows you to operate within a completely different system from the one you originally had (well, not entirely different, it will still use the host system's kernel etc...). You do not need your home for that. b) the chroot problem is probably coming from using a natty live CD, you should try with a lucid CD instead http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/kubuntu/relea ... d/release/ The other output was actually of you trying to upgrade the natty live CD, which failed. So, if the chroot should again throw the error from above, don't bother to try running anything, as long as the shell says ubuntu@ubuntu you are not in the chroot
Annoyed with bbcode since 1999.
|
Registered Member
|
Hello apachelogger,
(and sorry for that mistake); i had defined the user 'muelux' anew and logged in using the old username and password; i thought, my old system was already half on the way to the dist-upgrade to natty narwhal, so that i could anyway do the step forward? How can i change / (root), where normally the /home-directory is located (if i don't have defined a seperate /home-Partition) without affecting the /home-dir ? So it's the wrong way; i'm now running Lucid Lynx (live CD) and repeat the steps you mentioned.
So i'll excecute this installation #...] Hole:447 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-updates/main okular-extra-backends 4:4.4.5-0ubuntu1 [48,9kB] Es wurden 403MB in 3Min 33s geholt (1.888kB/s) Extrahiere Templates aus Paketen: 100% #[... |
KDE Developer
|
Well, you are still not in the chroot. And now the error gets funny. So, what I'd like you to get is the output of the following commands (after mounting all the stuff)
Then I should have a good idea of what the current state of the system actually is.
Annoyed with bbcode since 1999.
|
Registered Member
|
I am running the job now for about four hours, was gathering the information in my last post, but now i lost it (disconnection of the forum; kate had a segmentation fault).
Some of the warnings, that i could retrieve:
And it's still running:
Mount Result:
|
Registered Member
|
Result after one night updating:
|
KDE Developer
|
Shoot. Ok, sorry, but I gave you utterly wrong instructions for mounting
Mind the /dev, /proc and /sys after the /mnt in the last 3 commands. What I told you before was mounting your root to /mnt, then mount /dev over that, then mount /proc over that, then mount /sys over that. Hence your ls of /mnt actually lists the content of the live CD's /sys rather than the system root. Which is also the reason that chrooting did not work. Terribly sorry for that. With the revised instructions you should be able to chroot into your system just fine and execute the commands from before (valoriez' command chain + all the other stuff I told you). The update you had run over night was actually a an update of the liveCD, not the system. So, again, unless your shell says "root@..." do not bother with trying to upgrade, because you will still be working on the live CD and not your system.
Annoyed with bbcode since 1999.
|
Registered Member
|
Hello,
i think, now it's working (i remember a c't Article to a similar theme (making a slip-stream Boot-Stick unpacking casper-rw..., chrooting into that environment... but i just didn't had it available, so i didn't recognize the mistake: also my fault) Shouldn't we check now the used repos first? here my /etc/apt/sources-list:
Should i correct the missing sam-sentynel repo? |
KDE Developer
|
Careful, there is also /etc/apt/sources.list.d/, which is a directory and might contain individual files of sources entries, if so, you can probably move all of them elsewhere (/var/tmp/sources.list.d or something, just not on the CD and not into /tmp )
Also remove the sam-sentynel line from your sources.list file (i.e. the last line). Then try to run valoriez' command chain and see if that fails, if so please show us the (entire) output. Additionally as mentioned earlier the following might actually fix the brokneness already:
Annoyed with bbcode since 1999.
|
Registered Member
|
A new trial (i've lost an edited answer due to auto-logoff, then it was to late).
I've moved the ...sources.d dir and edited the sources.list to strip off the sentynel-ppa:
So, there's only the choice of valoriez's Command-sequence to dist-upgrade? |
KDE Developer
|
3 things: a) you need to run sudo apt-get update to apply the changes you did to the sources.list stuff b) yes, you should executes valoriez' command, but unlike what the interesting choice of name suggests, it will not upgrade your system to a newer version of the distribution. Instead it will upgrade all packages using a more permissive algorithm (in particular dist-upgrade in comparision to upgrade allows the removal as well as the installation of packages to fullfill dependencies. This is necessary whenever one uses PPAs or the backports repository as packages in there often will need newer versions of other software which in turn conflict with the older versions, so in order to resolve the dependency tree sometimes a removal or more often the installation of a new package will be necessary. Hence dist-upgrade. apt-get upgrade on the other hand will block all such packages. c) please also remove the kubuntu ppa you have in the sources.list those errors when trying to install kubuntu-desktop seem very much like this ppa is blocking it (also remember to run apt-get update after removing the line )
Annoyed with bbcode since 1999.
|
Registered Member
|
Ok, i removed the kubuntu ppa, the last lines of the apt.source.list are now:
The results :
I can't see what's wrong? |
Registered Member
|
I have some trouble when the laptop changes in stand-by mode; then the network becomes 'unmanaged' (have to boot completely new, or modificate the '/var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state': set all entries to 'true' and do a 'sudo service network-manager restart'; but it's an old mistake in the kubuntu-system).
btw.: why NetworkManager but service 'network-manager'? My second pitfall is, that i loose chroot-environment if i just hit accidently another instance of dolphin? (even a second <F3>-Window)? So i noticed, that the /dev, /proc and /sys -were double mounted due to my retries? I also don't really understand the trailing '/' at some commands, couldn't find something about the difference on the mount command (read info coreutils...) In the c't-article from 1/2010, S.180ff 'Mirco Dölle' used the 'mount --bind' without trailing Slashes at the target-entry? Is something else wrong? |
Registered users: Bing [Bot], Evergrowing, Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot]