This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Building in Centos 6.2

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
frfrfrfr
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

Building in Centos 6.2

Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:54 pm
Hello ,

Has anyone successfully compiled Krita 2.8 in Centos 6.2 to any working degree?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

Re: Building in Centos 6.2

Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:16 am
Which version of KDE is shipped with / available in CentOS 6.2?


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
halla
KDE Developer
Posts
5092
Karma
20
OS

Re: Building in Centos 6.2

Mon Apr 28, 2014 7:45 am
I do that regularly for Krita Studio (http://www.kritastudio.com). Usually I have to prune back a few Qt 4.7 or Qt 4.8-isms, but that is it. I use the epel repos as a dependency.

It's quite doable, but if you want the easy way out, I suggest taking out a Krita Studio support contract :-)
frfrfrfr
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

Re: Building in Centos 6.2

Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:37 pm
boudewijn wrote:I do that regularly for Krita Studio (http://www.kritastudio.com). Usually I have to prune back a few Qt 4.7 or Qt 4.8-isms, but that is it. I use the epel repos as a dependency.

It's quite doable, but if you want the easy way out, I suggest taking out a Krita Studio support contract :-)


Re: QT, that seems to be my stumbling block right now, in as much as i'm specifying a different QT location for cmake, which runs fine, but running `make` seems to fail, this is the first failure I see in the build:
/rng2cpp/rng2cpp: undefined symbol: _ZN9QListData11detach_growEPii

If I `ldd` the rng2cpp binary it has built, it's built against the local QT, not the newer version, and thus I believe cmake isn't properly linking to the newer version of QT for the build. Is this something you have encountered?

I will perhaps look at building again using epel as a reference for dependencies . I'm using QT 4.8.5, btw

Thanks
User avatar
halla
KDE Developer
Posts
5092
Karma
20
OS

Re: Building in Centos 6.2

Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:47 pm
I think I still build with Qt 4.6. The rng2cpp thing is weirdish -- we have a similar problem on Windows, where we need to run cmake twice so it actually gets built in time. I still don't like the idea of having the build system build an app the build system needs to build, but that's out of my hands now....
frfrfrfr
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

Re: Building in Centos 6.2

Tue Apr 29, 2014 9:13 pm
boudewijn wrote:I think I still build with Qt 4.6. The rng2cpp thing is weirdish -- we have a similar problem on Windows, where we need to run cmake twice so it actually gets built in time. I still don't like the idea of having the build system build an app the build system needs to build, but that's out of my hands now....


Hm, OK. I thought QT 4.6 was unsupported for latest Krita?

"Qt 4.7.0 or newer"

Anyway, funny, using QT 4.6.2 I get *a lot* further, but still failing:


/kde4/src/calligra/krita/ui/opengl/kis_opengl.cpp: In static member function ‘static void KisOpenGL::createContext()’:
/kde4/src/calligra/krita/ui/opengl/kis_opengl.cpp:66: error: ‘OpenGL_Version_3_1’ is not a member of ‘QGLFormat’
/kde4/src/calligra/krita/ui/opengl/kis_opengl.cpp:68: error: ‘OpenGL_Version_3_2’ is not a member of ‘QGLFormat’
/kde4/src/calligra/krita/ui/opengl/kis_opengl.cpp:70: error: ‘OpenGL_Version_3_3’ is not a member of ‘QGLFormat’
/kde4/src/calligra/krita/ui/opengl/kis_opengl.cpp:72: error: ‘OpenGL_Version_4_0’ is not a member of ‘QGLFormat’

Perhaps I will go ask the IRC channel o)
User avatar
halla
KDE Developer
Posts
5092
Karma
20
OS

Re: Building in Centos 6.2

Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:55 am
It's still 4.6:

if (QT3SUPPORT)
find_package(Qt4 4.6.0 REQUIRED QtCore QtGui QtXml QtScript QtSvg QtTest QtWebKit QtDBus Qt3Support)
else (QT3SUPPORT)
find_package(Qt4 4.6.0 REQUIRED QtCore QtGui QtXml QtScript QtSvg QtTest QtWebKit QtDBus)
endif (QT3SUPPORT)

(Of course, i regularly have to fix errors based on the Qt version, and I only build on CentOS once a month, when I do a Krita Studio release).
frfrfrfr
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

Re: Building in Centos 6.2

Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:22 pm
boudewijn wrote:It's still 4.6:

if (QT3SUPPORT)
find_package(Qt4 4.6.0 REQUIRED QtCore QtGui QtXml QtScript QtSvg QtTest QtWebKit QtDBus Qt3Support)
else (QT3SUPPORT)
find_package(Qt4 4.6.0 REQUIRED QtCore QtGui QtXml QtScript QtSvg QtTest QtWebKit QtDBus)
endif (QT3SUPPORT)

(Of course, i regularly have to fix errors based on the Qt version, and I only build on CentOS once a month, when I do a Krita Studio release).


OK, so have you seen the OpenGL related version that I posted above before?
User avatar
halla
KDE Developer
Posts
5092
Karma
20
OS

Re: Building in Centos 6.2

Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:32 pm
Not yet :-)
frfrfrfr
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

Re: Building in Centos 6.2

Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:11 pm
boudewijn wrote:Not yet :-)

;) i See. What version of openGL are you building against in 6.2?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

Re: Building in Centos 6.2

Thu May 01, 2014 10:52 am
With regards to your locally built version of Qt - have you set PATH, LD_LIBRARY_PATH and CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH appropriately to ensure your local Qt install masks the system wide installation? Also, if possible avoid having the system wide Qt development package installed to minimise the number of conflicts.

(the KDE CI system at build.kde.org doesn't have CMake or Qt installed at the system level to avoid conflicts such as this one - it provides both of those itself).


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
frfrfrfr
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

Re: Building in Centos 6.2

Thu May 01, 2014 5:10 pm
bcooksley wrote:With regards to your locally built version of Qt - have you set PATH, LD_LIBRARY_PATH and CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH appropriately to ensure your local Qt install masks the system wide installation? Also, if possible avoid having the system wide Qt development package installed to minimise the number of conflicts.

(the KDE CI system at build.kde.org doesn't have CMake or Qt installed at the system level to avoid conflicts such as this one - it provides both of those itself).


I do. This is what I'm trying (all together and combinations of them.. )

export PATH="/packages/gcc-4.4/qt/Qt-4.8.5/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:"
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/packages/gcc-4.4/qt/Qt-4.8.5/lib/:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export QTDIR=/packages/gcc-4.4/qt/Qt-4.8.5/
export QTINC=/packages/gcc-4.4/qt/Qt-4.8.5/include
export QTLIB=//packages/gcc-4.4/qt/Qt-4.8.5/lib
export CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH="/opt/Vc:/opt/eigen-eigen-b23437e61a07:/opt/ocio:/rnd/qt/qt_4.8.5/bin"

I'm using -DQT_QMAKE_EXECUTABLE= when i cmake, as well as using -DCMAKE_SHARED_LINKER_FLAGS:STRING= and -DCMAKE_CXX_FLAGS:STRING=

I'm pointing to my qmake executable, and the latter two are pointing at my qt-4.8.5/lib directory.Not sure if that is the correct thing to do but i'm able to suppress warnings regarding two different QT versions on the system by doing this, so It looked like a step in the right direction..
frfrfrfr
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

Re: Building in Centos 6.2

Thu May 01, 2014 9:52 pm
boudewijn wrote:Not yet :-)


.. I just commented out the checking that threw the error and managed to compile it with qt 4.6.2 .. thanks for the help.

May I suggest someone update the build document that mentions qt 4.7.0 is minimum?


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: bartoloni, Bing [Bot], Evergrowing, Google [Bot], ourcraft