This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Krita + non-wacom tablets

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
viktoria.s
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
1
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:37 pm
EscapedNight wrote:Yeah ofcourse I checked the xinput. It showed two entry of UC-Logic, first one showed "UClogic WP8060U ...........................touch.............id.........."
the second one was unchanged. I cant remember that line exactly, but the difference was that 'touch' thing. it wasn't before and was gone after i deleted the conf file.
For me it is:
Genius MousePen i608X id=17 [slave pointer (2)]
Genius MousePen i608X stylus id=18 [slave pointer (2)]
Tha first one is unchanged because that is the mouse which came with the pen (if you have a mouse with the pen probably it is the unchanges one.)
The second one is the pen.In your case the wacom driver appended 'touch' to the name which is wrong.

EscapedNight wrote:So can you describe the patching procedure? I'm not so old in Linux world, so i still need a detailed process.
And I'm not on KDE environment.
And Qt is supposed to be in my system by default? because if I command qtconfig in terminal, it says no such program, install qt4-qtconfig
On the 1st page of this thread you can find a detailed description how to patch Qt. And it could be that now qtconfig is called qt4-qtconfig, so instead you should install that.

@soare
Here is my output for the commands:
$ xsetwacom --list devices
Genius MousePen i608X stylus id: 18 type: STYLUS

$ xsetwacom --get 18 all
Option "Area" "0 0 20480 15360"
'Button' requires exactly 1 value(s).
Option "ToolDebugLevel" "0"
Option "TabletDebugLevel" "0"
Option "Suppress" "2"
Option "RawSample" "4"
Option "PressureCurve" "0 0 100 100"
Option "Mode" "Absolute"
Option "TabletPCButton" "off"
Option "Touch" "off"
Option "Gesture" "off"
Option "ZoomDistance" "0"
Option "ScrollDistance" "0"
Option "TapTime" "250"
Property 'Wacom Proximity Threshold' does not exist on device.
Option "Rotate" "none"
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Strip Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Strip Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Strip Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Strip Buttons' does not exist on device.
Option "Threshold" "27"
Option "ToolType" "603"
Option "ToolSerial" "0"
Option "ToolID" "0"
Option "ToolSerialPrevious" "0"
Option "BindToSerial" "0"
Option "TabletID" "20497"
(My tablet works in absolute mode only, and it does not have an eraser.)
So you can compare what is wrong and perhaps you can use xsetwacom for adjusting the configuration. (IMHO the area coordinates for your tablet are looking bad.) For more information you can visit this page:http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/linuxwacom/index.php?title=Main_Page. But I am afraid I cannot help you too much with this because I do not know much about how to configure the wacom driver.
And if you can make it work for example in Gimp with the wacom driver (remember to set the mode to screen in the Input Devices dialogue even with the wacom driver) then you should get the pressure automatically in Krita.
EscapedNight
Registered Member
Posts
16
Karma
0
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Tue Apr 16, 2013 5:14 pm
Btw, there was no folder called xorg.conf.d in /etc/x11/...

So i created that file in /usr/share/x11/xorg.conf.d/

And I didnt post a detailed info about the tablet. So here it is.

Code: Select all
lsusb
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 5543:0005 UC-Logic Technology Corp. Tablet WP8060U
xinput list
⎡ Virtual core pointer                       id=2   [master pointer  (3)]
⎜   ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer                 id=4   [slave  pointer  (2)]
⎜   ↳ USB Optical Mouse                          id=9   [slave  pointer  (2)]
⎜   ↳ UC-LOGIC Tablet WP8060U                    id=12   [slave  pointer  (2)]
⎜   ↳ UC-LOGIC Tablet WP8060U                    id=13   [slave  pointer  (2)]


yeah it comes with a wireless mouse which i didnt even unpack.

user Pablod's tablet Genius Pensketch 9x12 which is also a rebranding of UC-Logic according to http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/d ... ort_status
If his device works with the tweak, i wonder why mine won't...
viktoria.s
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
1
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Sat Apr 20, 2013 12:25 pm
EscapedNight wrote:Btw, there was no folder called xorg.conf.d in /etc/x11/...

So i created that file in /usr/share/x11/xorg.conf.d/
In that case you should create that directory manually then. (I created it manually myself too.)
EscapedNight wrote:And I didnt post a detailed info about the tablet. So here it is.

Code: Select all
lsusb
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 5543:0005 UC-Logic Technology Corp. Tablet WP8060U
xinput list
⎡ Virtual core pointer                       id=2   [master pointer  (3)]
⎜   ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer                 id=4   [slave  pointer  (2)]
⎜   ↳ USB Optical Mouse                          id=9   [slave  pointer  (2)]
⎜   ↳ UC-LOGIC Tablet WP8060U                    id=12   [slave  pointer  (2)]
⎜   ↳ UC-LOGIC Tablet WP8060U                    id=13   [slave  pointer  (2)]


yeah it comes with a wireless mouse which i didnt even unpack.
Based on that maybe this configuration file would be better:
Code: Select all
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "UC-LOGIC class"
   MatchProduct "WP8060U"
   MatchIsTablet "on"
   MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
   Driver "wacom"
EndSection
But I am not sure.
EscapedNight wrote:user Pablod's tablet Genius Pensketch 9x12 which is also a rebranding of UC-Logic according to http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/d ... ort_status
If his device works with the tweak, i wonder why mine won't...
I do not understand that. I guess it depends on weather or not the wacom driver's generic stylus routine can handle that specific pen or not. You can check the output of the xinput command, the Xorg.log file and of course you can check weather or not the xsetwacom command works.
areid
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Sun Jun 02, 2013 4:27 am
viktoria.s wrote:
@areid
I guess you are using the evdev driver for your tablet currently. (You do not need any other driver for your tablet, at least according to my best knowledge.) Can you use it in gimp/mypaint or in other painting program?
You can try to make your tablet work with the wacom driver. For that create /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/52-uclogic-on-wacom.conf with the following content:
Code: Select all
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "UC-LOGIC class"
   MatchProduct "UC-LOGIC"
   MatchIsTablet "on"
   MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
   Driver "wacom"
EndSection
I am not sure if it's going to work but I guess it's worth a try.
If the tablet was picked up by the wacom driver you should see UC-LOGIC Tablet WP8060U stylus in the input list (instead of just UC-LOGIC Tablet WP8060U).


Yeap, evdev ok! Its function with GIMP, mypaint, inkscape not in krita :(

I try make wacom driver but its not work :( Pen function like to mouse button left pressed, it's similar a touch tablet, I think!
viktoria.s
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
1
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:53 am
areid wrote:Yeap, evdev ok! Its function with GIMP, mypaint, inkscape not in krita :(
I try make wacom driver but its not work :( Pen function like to mouse button left pressed, it's similar a touch tablet, I think!
Can you post the output of the xinput command using the wacom driver? (That might help to figure out what the issue with the wacom driver.)
EscapedNight
Registered Member
Posts
16
Karma
0
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:37 pm
When the easy way didnt work, I think I need tot est the hard way now...reconfigure qt as described viewtopic.php?f=139&t=98347&p=219647#p220126 here.

two question:

1.is it possible to test this trick in virtual box..so that at;least my whole system wont break...
2. is this possible that my ubuntu doesnt have qt? :P I dont know much about programs, but in terminal when i command qtconfig, it says "
Code: Select all
qtconfig
The program 'qtconfig' can be found in the following packages:
 * qt3-qtconfig
 * qt4-qtconfig
Try: sudo apt-get install <selected package>
"
User avatar
halla
KDE Developer
Posts
5092
Karma
20
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:53 pm
Your *buntu does have Qt :-). Otherwise Krita wouldn't start. This command is telling you which package to install the qt-config utility.
viktoria.s
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
1
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:10 am
EscapedNight wrote:1.is it possible to test this trick in virtual box..so that at;least my whole system wont break...
Yes of course. I did test things on a VM before applied to my stable system. And one tip: if the mouse cursor did not follow the movement of the pen on the VM (while you are drawing in Krita for example) try Machine->Disable mouse integration in VirtualBox. (You can find more info on this in the QT bug's comments here: https://bugreports.qt-project.org/browse/QTBUG-25329).
Good luck!
areid
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:08 pm
viktoria.s wrote:
areid wrote:Yeap, evdev ok! Its function with GIMP, mypaint, inkscape not in krita :(
I try make wacom driver but its not work :( Pen function like to mouse button left pressed, it's similar a touch tablet, I think!
Can you post the output of the xinput command using the wacom driver? (That might help to figure out what the issue with the wacom driver.)


Sorry, about long time :(

I resolve test it again, but now in Virtual Box!

No alteration , It's ok for GIMP, Mypaint, Inkscape... not work in krita

⎡ Virtual core pointer id=2 [master pointer (3)]
⎜ ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer id=4 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ VirtualBox mouse integration id=8 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ VirtualBox USB Tablet id=9 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ UC-LOGIC Tablet WP8060U id=10 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ UC-LOGIC Tablet WP8060U id=11 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ ImExPS/2 Generic Explorer Mouse id=13 [slave pointer (2)]
⎣ Virtual core keyboard id=3 [master keyboard (2)]
↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard id=5 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Power Button id=6 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Sleep Button id=7 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ AT Translated Set 2 keyboard id=12 [slave keyboard (3)]

After use wacom driver (check line 5 touch?)

⎡ Virtual core pointer id=2 [master pointer (3)]
⎜ ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer id=4 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ VirtualBox mouse integration id=8 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ VirtualBox USB Tablet id=9 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ UC-LOGIC Tablet WP8060U touch id=10 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ UC-LOGIC Tablet WP8060U id=11 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ ImExPS/2 Generic Explorer Mouse id=13 [slave pointer (2)]
⎣ Virtual core keyboard id=3 [master keyboard (2)]
↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard id=5 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Power Button id=6 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Sleep Button id=7 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ AT Translated Set 2 keyboard id=12 [slave keyboard (3)]

Pression not work in Krita :( only change line UC-LOGIC Tablet WP8060U touch id=10 [slave pointer (2)]

Is possible QT5 get support for evdev?

Last edited by areid on Fri Sep 20, 2013 6:41 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
halla
KDE Developer
Posts
5092
Karma
20
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Fri Sep 20, 2013 6:19 am
Qt5 appears to have preliminary support for evdev devices, but (not having one of those devices), I haven't been able to test.
michel g.
Registered Member
Posts
19
Karma
0

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:15 am
Hello. I'm a Windows user (please don't spank me). :)
I have a Genius G-Pen 450 tablet which works fine with other software such as MyPaint, Painter, etc., but I have two problems with it in Krita. I'm currently using version 2.7.8.13 x64
Sometimes when starting a stroke, the program won't pick up the stylus' input. So it won't draw until I've attempted a stroke several times. The amount of attempts to make it work seems to be random.
The other problem is even more puzzling: the crosshair and the tip of the brush are totally offset by much, and the offset is variable too. Depending on the position of the crosshair on the screen, the distance between the crosshair center and the brush will change consinstently.
A third problem that I'm not entirely sure it's caused by the software, is that when I lift the stylus the stroke goes full pressure on until I move the pen for a brief moment.

I think a video is word a thousand words (multiplied by the amount of frames used in the video 8) ). Here are the bugs in action (notice at first I try to draw but Krita is not registering the stroke):
http://www69.zippyshare.com/v/69628683/file.html (click on "download now")

As you can see, pressure sensitivity is not affected and is working fine.
Please tell me whatever you need to know to pinpoint the source of the problem of these issues. I really wish to get to use Krita with my stylus!
slangkamp
KDE Developer
Posts
607
Karma
4

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:33 am
A new version with improved tablet support for Windows is tested right now. See the version linked here viewtopic.php?f=281&t=117746
michel g.
Registered Member
Posts
19
Karma
0

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:14 am
slangkamp wrote:A new version with improved tablet support for Windows is tested right now. See the version linked here viewtopic.php?f=281&t=117746

Wow, great timing I guess :) Gonna give the test build a shot.
Graphy
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Thu Oct 24, 2013 11:23 pm
I've recently found this great program but I have some problem with my tablet Genius PenSketch 9x12. I used to use it in gimp 2.6 (it has not pressure sensitivity in Gimp 2.8 ) on Ubuntu 12.04 with edev driver - but the driver doesn't work in krita (no pressure sensitivity). So I've created 52-genius-on-wacom.conf with this content
Code: Select all
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "Stylus class"
   MatchProduct "9x12"
   MatchIsTablet "on"
   MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
   Driver "wacom"
EndSection

Now I have pressure support both in gimp 2.6 and in krita (gimp 2.8 still doesn't work :( ). The problem is that the tablet's aspect ratio is 4:3 but my monitor is 16:10 (or 16:9) - I solved it in edev driver this way
52-tablet-on-evdev.conf

Code: Select all
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "Genius PenSketch pen"
        MatchProduct "Tablet"
        MatchIsTablet "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "evdev"
        # Apply custom Options below.
        Option "Calibration" "0 24000 0 15000"
EndSection


But the Option "Calibration" doesn't work with wacom driver - I tried this
Code: Select all
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "Stylus class"
   MatchProduct "9x12"
   MatchIsTablet "on"
   MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
   Driver "wacom"

        Option   "MinX"   "0"
   Option   "MaxX"   "24000"
   Option   "MinY"   "0"
   Option   "MaxY"   "18000"
EndSection


but it has no efect and whole area of tablet is in use - I need to crop upper part

I tried program Calibrate Touchscreen and here is its output

Code: Select all
Warning: multiple calibratable devices found, calibrating last one (                9x12 Tablet pad)
   use --device to select another one.
Calibrating standard Xorg driver "                9x12 Tablet pad"
   current calibration values: min_x=-20, max_x=5000 and min_y=12, max_y=3201
   If these values are estimated wrong, either supply it manually with the --precalib option, or run the 'get_precalib.sh' script to automatically get it (through HAL).


--> Making the calibration permanent <--
  copy the snippet below into '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-calibration.conf'
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier   "calibration"
   MatchProduct   "!!Name_Of_TouchScreen!!"
   Option   "MinX"   "-15"
   Option   "MaxX"   "4998"
   Option   "MinY"   "17"
   Option   "MaxY"   "3205"
EndSection

Change '!!Name_Of_TouchScreen!!' to your device's name in the config above.


but I'm not sure what to use instead of "!!Name_Of_TouchScreen!!" Is it
Code: Select all
"                9x12 Tablet pad"
?

and here is another thing I've tried
Code: Select all
~$ xsetwacom --list devices
                9x12 Tablet stylus   id: 11   type: STYLUS   
                9x12 Tablet stylus   id: 13   type: STYLUS   
                9x12 Tablet pad    id: 16   type: PAD 

~$ xsetwacom --get 11 all
Option "Area" "0 0 24000 18000"
'Button' requires exactly 1 value(s).
Option "ToolDebugLevel" "0"
Option "TabletDebugLevel" "0"
Option "Suppress" "2"
Option "RawSample" "4"
Option "PressureCurve" "0 0 100 100"
Option "Mode" "Absolute"
Option "TabletPCButton" "off"
Option "Touch" "on"
Option "Gesture" "off"
Option "ZoomDistance" "0"
Option "ScrollDistance" "0"
Option "TapTime" "250"
Property 'Wacom Proximity Threshold' does not exist on device.
Option "Rotate" "none"
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Strip Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Strip Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Strip Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Strip Buttons' does not exist on device.
Option "Threshold" "27"
Option "ToolType" "278"
Option "ToolSerial" "0"
Option "ToolID" "0"
Option "ToolSerialPrevious" "0"
Option "BindToSerial" "0"
Option "TabletID" "66"



~$ xsetwacom --get 13 all
Option "Area" "0 0 24000 18000"
'Button' requires exactly 1 value(s).
Option "ToolDebugLevel" "0"
Option "TabletDebugLevel" "0"
Option "Suppress" "2"
Option "RawSample" "4"
Option "PressureCurve" "0 0 100 100"
Option "Mode" "Absolute"
Option "TabletPCButton" "off"
Option "Touch" "on"
Option "Gesture" "off"
Option "ZoomDistance" "0"
Option "ScrollDistance" "0"
Option "TapTime" "250"
Property 'Wacom Proximity Threshold' does not exist on device.
Option "Rotate" "none"
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Wheel Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Strip Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Strip Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Strip Buttons' does not exist on device.
Property 'Wacom Strip Buttons' does not exist on device.
Option "Threshold" "27"
Option "ToolType" "278"
Option "ToolSerial" "0"
Option "ToolID" "0"
Option "ToolSerialPrevious" "1"
Option "BindToSerial" "0"
Option "TabletID" "66"


~$ xsetwacom --get 16 all
Property 'Wacom Tablet Area' does not exist on device.
'Button' requires exactly 1 value(s).
Option "ToolDebugLevel" "0"
Option "TabletDebugLevel" "0"
Option "Suppress" "2"
Option "RawSample" "4"
Property 'Wacom Pressurecurve' does not exist on device.
Option "Mode" "Absolute"
Property 'Wacom Hover Click' does not exist on device.
Option "Touch" "on"
Option "Gesture" "off"
Option "ZoomDistance" "0"
Option "ScrollDistance" "0"
Option "TapTime" "250"
Property 'Wacom Proximity Threshold' does not exist on device.
Option "Rotate" "none"
Option "RelWheelUp" "button +90 "
Option "RelWheelDown" "+91 "
Option "AbsWheelUp" "+90 "
Option "AbsWheelDown" "+91 "
Option "AbsWheel2Up" "+92 "
Option "AbsWheel2Down" "+93 "
Option "StripLeftUp" "+94 "
Option "StripLeftDown" "+95 "
Option "StripRightUp" "+96 "
Option "StripRightDown" "+97 "
Option "Threshold" "27"
Option "ToolType" "301"
Option "ToolSerial" "0"
Option "ToolID" "0"
Option "ToolSerialPrevious" "0"
Option "BindToSerial" "0"
Option "TabletID" "66"



Any ideas?
User avatar
halla
KDE Developer
Posts
5092
Karma
20
OS

Re: Krita + non-wacom tablets

Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:01 am
The Genius is is an evdev-based tablet, as far as I know, and Krita doesn't support that. It's possible that current git master has some support (I need to check -- Dmitry re-implemented all the tablet support code, we no longer use Qt for that, but I don't know whether he added support for evdev devices). But you'd need to compile Krita for that.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: abc72656, Bing [Bot], daret, Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot]