Registered Member
|
I have been running 4.2 rc1, and found that several plasmoids caused plasma to crash. Naturally, I want to file a bug report. The problem is, I'm utterly failing to get enough useful information to file a bug report the devs can use. Here's the trouble:
- For starters, i can't figure out how to get a backtrace from plasma. I tried this:
The problem is, after plasma finished loading, the original process exits. meaning I'm not getting a trace any longer. - The second problem is, after I installed the debugging symbols, THE PROBLEM STOPPED. Which probably is enlightening for why the developers didn't notice it. What would cause a problem like this to stop if the debugging symbols are installed? And how do I get a meaningful crash report if it only crashes without them? Any advice would be appreciated, I really want to see KDE get solid.
admoore, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
|
KDE Developer
|
It could have been that a binary-incompatible plasmoid was updated when you installed the debugging symbols. What plasmoid was causing the crash?
|
Registered Member
|
The comic strip and the lcd weather; I didn't see any packages get installed other than the debugging symbols -- I'm a habitual dist-upgrader.
EDIT: lcd weather still crashes plasma, comic strip appears stable.
Last edited by admoore on Fri Jan 16, 2009 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
admoore, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
|
KDE Developer
|
You can attach gdb to a running process using its --pid option
Such things can happen if memory is being accessed after it has been released. In a debug build there is less optimization on memory management, so the previously used memory migth still be accessible and filled with suitable data. In a release build it can get overwritten faster thus causing a crash on the invalid access later on.
The only thing you can do then is to report that switching to a debug build hides the problem. The developer might then have other means to get useful information, e.g. by knowing how such things usually happen they could run the process through a memory access checking tool like valgrind.
Thanks a lot for your efforts! Cheers, _
anda_skoa, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
|
Registered Member
|
Thanks! I will see if I can get a bug report together.
EDIT: OK, when i open konsole and attach gdb to plasma's process, plasma locks up, so I can't replicate the problem. Sorry, I'm not very experienced with gdb, I've only used it a few times. Is there a better way to get a backtrace from a plasma crash?
Last edited by admoore on Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
admoore, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
|
Registered Member
|
Ok, man gdb. I hit "c" after attaching and plasma continues execution.... in a different thread. So no debug output. It just segfaults.
After the initial loadup, this is all I get:
Should I just file the bug anyway, or is that going to be useless?
Last edited by admoore on Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
admoore, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
|
KDE Developer
|
Try
then type "run" at the prompt. When it crashes, type
NOTE: It's actually possible to log to a file in gdb - if you want to dump the bt to a log file, something like
instead of just bt should do the trick.
ssj-gz.blogspot.com: KDE4Daily, Konqueror4 Restoration
|
Registered Member
|
Thanks! I couldn't figure out the logging bit (it was set logging file plasma-whatever.kcrash, but the file didn't show up), but I just used tee and managed to get a copy of the backtrace.
I'll go ahead and file the bug; thanks again!
admoore, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
|
KDE Developer
|
I would go ahead and file the bug with as much information as you have. Some developers will fling poo at you for it, but just fling it back.
Don't look back! (Or you might see the giants whose shoulders we stand on)
|
Registered Member
|
Well, after all that, it turns out it was a QT bug that's fixed upstream. Oh well, it was educational anyway...
admoore, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
|
KDE Developer
|
Yep, next time it will be nice and easy I wonder why DrKonqi wasn't triggered, though ... ?
ssj-gz.blogspot.com: KDE4Daily, Konqueror4 Restoration
|
Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot]