This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Suggestions for Krita

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
ChefJ
Registered Member

Suggestions for Krita

Sun Jul 19, 2015 8:37 pm
Hi!

I'm a Photoshop veteran of 8 years, and yeterday I was recommended to try Krita. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that it was a free software that at first glance packed quite a punch. After a few hours of just jiggling about in it; picking out a few brushes that I liked, setting up all the hotkeys the way I want them, and fine tuning in general, I scratched down a few sketches (I didn't save any to show, sorry) to see how well it worked.

I am very impressed with this software. How customisable it is, the arsenal of tools available (some not available in Photoshop, I might add), the brushes and how they're set up, and how smoothly it runs. I am especially fond of the right-click HUD that shows a color-whel along with a set of brushes. However, there are a few features I am missing from Photoshop. Now, I might've just missed these since I've only sat down with the software for a few hours, and I'm not aware of what is on the list for the next version of Krita, but I'm hoping some of these features is or will be implemented in the near future.

- Wacom Pen Pan/Scroll
The way I work, I'm used to panning and scrolling in any software using a button on my Wacom pen. The button is assigned Wacoms preset "Pan/Scroll..." function, and works in Photoshop as well as in Chrome, Spotify, and others. In Krita, I can't get this to work at all. Even rebinding the pen button to 'Space' to try and use the standard Space+Left Click command to pan won't work. I use a Wacom Cintiq 13 with an Intuos 5 Pen, in case that's relevant.

- Invoke 'Move' Tool