This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Can the kscreenlocker transition effects be changed?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
ticedoff8
Registered Member
This may be too simple for this forum, but I am new to KDE (more of a Gnome guy).

I know kscreenlocker handles the functions related to user inactivity.
I am mainly interested in the screen saver portion.

In the Systems Settings -> Screen Locker,
I have selected a folder of pictures that I want to use, the length of inactivity (5 min) before the screen saver kicks in, and the delay between slides (5 sec).
When I preview the the settings, the first two or three slides show up (full screen) fine, then it stops. The last slide will stay up indefinitely.
When I wiggle the mouse, the screen saver clears and I am back to the desktop as normal.
Meanwhile, the Systems Settings / Screen Locker mini-preview screen is running at 5 second intervals with all the pictures in the folder being displayed.

There are a couple of problems here:
* Most of the time, after 5 min, the screen goes black - not the slide show of pictures in the folder.
* Or, the slide show will start, and the transition effect from slide to slide will take forever - it slowly (pixel by pixel it seems) will transition from one slide to the next.
* The full screen preview stops after 1 or 2 slides.

The questions are:
How do I change the transition effect from slide to slide
Is there a size limit on the pictures I can use?
luebking
Most of the time, after 5 min, the screen goes black - not the slide show of pictures in the folder.

That's dpms, the power (and screen) saving.

No idea about screensavers.
ticedoff8
Registered Member
luebking wrote:
Most of the time, after 5 min, the screen goes black - not the slide show of pictures in the folder.

That's dpms, the power (and screen) saving.

No idea about screensavers.

Thanks,
But the screen isn't powering off or going into power saving mode.