This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

KDE 5 Plasma having problems with saving settings

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
KillerLink
Registered Member
Hello there,
i am somewhat new to KDE, but have atleast somewhat knowledge about Linux usw.

I have just setup an arch-linux installation on my laptop (HP Pavilion dv6) (using an SSD harddrive) and decided to use kde5 plasma as desktop environment.
A small notice, my mother-tongue is German and therefore my System is set to german as well.
(I am trying to translate everything to englisch, if i dont know the correct translation i might write it in "..." )

If i am in the wrong subforum, i ask for forgiveness, please redirect me to the correct place to ask.

My Problem is the following: Some Settings edited via the given graphical interfaces are not saved/stored/loaded corretly.
Plus: the problem does not occur consitently. Sometimes its saved correctly, sometimes not.

Example 1:
I create a new shortcut via SystemSettings>Shortcuts>OwnSettings, I create a new group and in it a new shortcut, i define what keys to use and what action to perform, for example "alt+enter" and "xterm".
The defined shortcut now does work. But i can not simply change the action: for example if i change the shortcut, press apply and return to the overview of systemsettings, then go back to the specific shortcut settings page, the change ist not present anymore. (Neither did the change apply).
I noticed that if i change the shortcut key AND the action and press apply, it is saved correctly. If i only change the action (and do press apply) it is not saved correclty.
Also, if changed the action and pressed apply and the click on another shortcut to edit, i says that there are unsaved changes in a dialog box.
Also, unchecking (to disable) the shortcut, "apply", change, "apply", re-check shortcut (enableing the shortcut), "apply" does the trick as well to save correctly.