This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

New user just getting started in Linux

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
wodger
Registered Member
Good day,

As the title says, I'm just getting started in Linux. I am coming from Windows 10 for most of the common reasons and I won't bore you with specifics. Needless to say, there are a few things that "Only run on Windows" that I can't really ditch, so I am in a position to either stick it out with windows, or dual boot and learn something new - I favor the 2nd option with making my main install Linux and windows "As and when it's needed"

Anyway, enough of the waffling. I tried a number of different flavors but while they were pretty, I felt out of control on what I wanted to have as apps (felt like I was back in windows and having their preferred apps shoved my way), so I thought to start with a fresh sheet of paper, I settled on Arch. Was it the right choice, well I'm learning every day and got a system up and running (thanks google and youtube). Then it came to a desktop environment and this is where I fell upon KDE and Plasma 5.20.2 as they have a reputation for customizing everything.

Here's where I'm at, and I'm getting lost - I'm looking for a breakdown of how everything is working in the environment, what's connected to what. I don't like the start menu (Windows term sorry), I would like to change it completely - how would I go about that? for example, how would one change the menu to an app tiled setup similar to windows 10 that supports drag and drop apps into it (if not drag and drop then adding via a menu).
I know a bit of C++, haven't touched Qt before, but willing to learn. I would love to code like visual basic used to do - prepare the UI layout first then code the individual elements.