This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

[SOLVED] How to make a login screen?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
Gringolio
Registered Member

[SOLVED] How to make a login screen?

Mon Mar 23, 2009 11:15 pm
Hello, I am new to linux and new to Kubuntu. I would like to make my own Login Screen for KDE. I got inspired by the login screens in kde-look.org :)
I was wondering if it is hard to make one? Are there any guides to making one? Are there any step-by-step guides? I am asking because I tried searching in google and failed to find anything about making Kde login screens or KDE themes...
Could someone point me to some place I could start learning to make login screens or splash screens etc.
I am sorry if this post is not in the right place ;/
Thank you for answers ;)
bcooksley
Administrator
OS
The KDE Login screen is managed by an application called "KDM". I do not know where to find documentation to make a theme however.

KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
Gringolio
Registered Member
I think that many new linux users would appreciate a step-by-step guide which explains how login screens, splash screens and bootsplash work and how they can be modified. It is pretty obvious that after customizing desktop backgrounds, icons etc. people move to these elements. However I could not find any reasonable information about this topic...
P.S. I think that such guide would greatly increase the amount of people working on these things and therefore increase the amount of people interested in KDE.
Gringolio
Registered Member
I actually found how to do it... link
http://techbase.kde.org/Development/Tut ... asma/Theme
Angel Blue01
Registered Member
OS
I was going to ask this too! Actually the link points to creating Plasma themes, which define the look and feel of widgets on the desktop, not a KDM theme, unless I missed something...