This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

[SOLVED] Widgets floating in the desktop instead of being inside the taskbar panel.

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
jmicheli
Registered Member
OS
Hi,
I am a beginner in Linux and recently installed it in my machine for the first time; I am running Fedora 10 + KDE 4.2.3. In one of the first times that I started my machine running Linux I thought it was ready to use when the application launcher (kickoff) became available. I clicked on it and started an application; this caused my machine to "jam". Well, at least until the start-up music was played. In my anger, thinking that the thing was really stuck, I started clicking everywhere in the screen (sorry, but some old windows' habits dye hard). The problem is that, after playing the initialization music, everything started working properly, including my previous clicks. The result is that now the System Tray and the Task Manager are floating in the desktop area while the clock is taking the hole panel! I tried to move the widgets back to the taskbar, but didn't work at all. I also tried to remove and re-install them (typical windows solution :thumbs_down:), but no positive result again.
Anyone has any other tip of how to put these widgets back tot he taskbar?
I could see a question where the guy made the same thing and it he was guided to restore the taskbar to the default, but the command will restore the whole desktop to the default and I don't want that. I had made some other configurations to the desktop that I would like to keep.
Many thanks,
Eduardo
Hans
Administrator
OS
Which KDE version? If your widgets are unlocked, you should be able to simple drag and drop widgets to the panel (either from the desktop or Add Widgets dialog).

Problem solved? Please click on "Accept this answer" below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.