This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Customizing KDE4 themes - need some pointers!

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
Johnny SSH
Registered Member
Hi,

my first post and I'm already going into creating new designs :)

I am really sorry first of all as I have Google'd around a bit which in each case pointed me here on many similar topics with what seems to be like people asking the same thing.

Please forgive me for this but I haven't found the answer to my question yet...

What I would like to know is where to find config files and directories for all customizable KDE4 components??

I suspect that this will depend on the version of KDE4 according to what I have read and also which OS/Linux distro one is using.

I currently run KDE4 on KUbuntu 9.04 (don't ask me which version it is I am new to KDE!!), Gnome2 used to pretty much work out of the box with in depth config etc which is why I need some assistance.

Of course there are many elements to making up a theme and many different themes too according to what I have been reading... sorry the links aren't here but they're on another machine they all lead back here though :)

The ones I am interested in seem to be a bunch of SVG files, however upon running updatedb then locate *.svg there are a lot of these files in many different places and I have no idea what they all are as I can't make sense of them from their names.

What I am looking into doing to start with is working around the Oxygen theme which is the default on my current desktop. I'd like to reverse engineer this so that I can modify things like colors and icons like the Kicker icon which took me too many hours yesterday to find it's location of which I have now managed to successfully change. But like with the gnome desktop in a theme you can if I recall correctly, tell the theme to use a specific desktop background say image.jpg just for example purposes.