This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Explosions & Window Bar

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
extasic
Registered Member
OS

Explosions & Window Bar

Sat Nov 07, 2009 11:14 am
Hi!

I'm quite new to KDE. I tried it several years ago, but it all looked quite different then.

I really like the new look and feel, but there are two things I want to change but don't find the right settings:

1)

I played around with the effects and turned on the one that causes closing windows to explode. It worked well but after some time was pretty annoying. Unfortunately disabling it using "systemsettings" didn't work for me. Even though the check mark is removed (I clicked apply as well) all windows still explode while closing.

Do you have any idea how to disable it?

2)

When using the old KDE version (might be 3) I could set the part that is called "Taskbar" in Windows (so where all opened program are listed on the bottom part of the screen) that only the windows of the current active screen (that one where I have four of it) are shown. This time when a window is on screen 3 and I am on screen 1 it is shown as well and the screen is swapped to number 3 if I click on the item. Because of many open windows this is irritating.
Do you know if this setting still exist?

Thank you in advance!
bcooksley
Administrator
OS

Re: Explosions & Window Bar

Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:29 pm
With regards to 1) Outside of a KDE session, try removing ~/.kde4/share/config/kwinrc

KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
Alec
Registered Member
OS

Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:47 pm
extasic wrote:2)