This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Problem with "Alternate Background"

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
askeeve
Registered Member
OS

Problem with "Alternate Background"

Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:30 am
I'm not sure if this is the right place but I've been searching all over the internet for hours on this now and I'm at a loss. I hope somebody here can help me.

I'm fairly new to KDE, I previously played with Gnome on Ubuntu but I wouldn't say I was ever an expert on that either. So far I'm very impressed with KDE but I'm having a problem that I can't seem to fix.

The "Alternate Background" color from my color scheme ("Obsidian Coast") is not working in the View Color set. As far as I can tell every other color is appearing correctly but in every application with lists (even KDE applications that should have no trouble using KDE color schemes) the lists alternate between a dark black and bright white. In the settings the Normal Background and Alternate Background are set to very similar dark colors so I have no idea where this white background is coming from. I've looked around and I can't think of any other setting that might be overriding it.

The White background is distracting, ugly, and makes it hard to read the text (which is using the correct color specified in the color scheme). I hope somebody can help me out here. Thanks so much! :)
bcooksley
Administrator
OS
Have you tried restarting affected applications? Sometimes applications don't react to the colour scheme changing properly.

KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
askeeve
Registered Member
OS
I've tried that several times. In fact changing the color scheme was one of the first things I did with setting up my computer so this color has been in the settings long before I even installed some of the programs where I'm seeing this problem.
askeeve
Registered Member
OS