This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Switching from GNOME and have 2 important questions.

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
neotoxin1
Registered Member
OS
Ok, so i'm fairly new to linux in general, ive been using it for about 3 months now, I have it installed on all of my computers and im loving it :) I am using Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic and I have recently been experimenting with different DE's I have so far tired GNOME, KDE, and XFCE. I have to admit I love the way Gnome works and I love the way it Looks, but I do not like the lack of customization. KDE is starting to grow on me. I have it customized with Docky and I put my panel at the top etc... But now there are 2 things that are make or break for me in KDE.

1. In gnome I have all of my drives(fixed and removable) mounted on my desktop similar to OSX, I can not seem to do this in KDE, and the "device notifier widget" just wont cut-it.

2. I need my "Compiz config Settings Manager" The way Compiz works in KDE seems to be very different than the way it works in gnome, and I dont like it.

Now if I could just figure out how to get the "Ubuntu Software Center" and "synaptic Package Manager" I will more than likely switch. :) Please help.
bcooksley
Administrator
OS
Unfortunately 1) is not currently supported by KDE, as a workaround you can add the Device Notifier to the Desktop however.

For 2) you have probably found KWin's effects ( located at System Settings > Desktop > Desktop Effects ). I am not aware of the command needed to launch the Compiz configuration manager, however it can probably be found in the menu. You may wish to change the default window manager setting in System Settings > Default Applications first though.

KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
Vistaus
Registered Member
OS