This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Problem: dual-head and ATI

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
RickBosch
Registered Member
OS

Problem: dual-head and ATI

Tue Dec 28, 2010 2:12 pm
Well assuming this is my first post, allow me to introduce myself:

My name is Rick.

I registered here in the hope to get some help/answers to my questions and maybe even a potential fix for my problem.

Before reading this I must inform you, I'm new to KDE and X server. So please, be kind if I totally get some things wrong :D

My problem? A dual-head setup with (X server) KDE desktop. I'm currently running OpenBSD with X server and kde working as it should work but i'm not able to get my dual-head setup working.

I'll keep it brief but I think I've spend a month or 2-3 getting this fixed.

I've tried multiple xorg.conf tweaks and did some research but nothing seemed to work. Whenever I add a new monitor section, set a screen in the device section or make a server layout I get 2 black screens. (keep in mind that I've tried nearly every solution I found on google/other websites)

Now, I managed to get it to work perfectly with the xrandr function BUT:

- Whenever I reboot the desktop it goes back to default ( 'cause of the xorg configuration not being adjusted by xrandr??). I've tried adding the xrandr lines in my .xinitrc but it doesn't do anything really (default etc).

Some other usefull info: My GPU: Ati radeon HD4650 (AGP!) / r700(?) driver.
My previous card (a random old agp matrox card) wouldn't even detect my dvi in/output.

I couldn't find any ati drivers. X -configure is also giving me "unknown board name" is this something to be worried about??

So my question!?!:

Do you guys have any clue on why it is not working? And is there anyway to by-pass my xorg.conf by adding the xrandr in a different file and using it by start-up, if so: how¿

Thanks in advance!

Rick

ps. Sorry if I posted this in the wrong section!
bcooksley